The Best Laid Plans


Advertisement
Published: August 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Blew Me AwayBlew Me AwayBlew Me Away

After recovering in a cafe I happened to look up and saw I was sitting underneath this Colorado hat. What are the chances! Another sign?
Today things just didn't work out. But, really, that's okay, mainly because I tend to be superstitious about travel, and look out for signs. This morning I got a glaring sign when, having literally been on my bike for 2 minutes, both tires exploded beneath me. Not just one tire, but both. That has to be rare. To top it off, all of this happened right in front of the tourist office, where I rented the bike. And the two ladies who rented the bike to me saw it, and rushed out to see if I was okay. I was going so slow nothing really happened, just kind of slammed against the curb. But these two ladies were very concerned, helped me inside, were almost too attentive, gave me back all of my money, and overall just felt very bad.

All of this was a sign because, in this isolated region, without a car or a bike you're basically stuck in place. Distances are too far to walk. So, all signs seemed to point to me staying in Les Eyzies, and putting Lascaux on my list of trip casualties. I was disappointed, but after what happened, who knows what might've
Pretty Les Eyzies Pretty Les Eyzies Pretty Les Eyzies

Little square near the river.
been... maybe I just wasn't meant to go? That's what it seems like to me.

So, with Lascaux off the table, I basically spent the day licking my wounds at the 2 or 3 cafes in town, having long coffees, picking away at my dissertation (which I make a point of doing every day), reading, chatting with some French person, wandering the river, wandering town, taking a nap in the afternoon, and really just relaxing before my final push.

That's how I make sense of today. A series of perhaps fortunate events. Really made me think, though. There must've been a reason for all of this.

Tomorrow I set off again, heading a bit farther North to the Loire region, and Amboise. I hope St. Christopher keeps looking out for me a bit longer. I seem to need it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Small WaterfallSmall Waterfall
Small Waterfall

Happened upon this while walking down the river.
Eclair HelpEclair Help
Eclair Help

I love a good eclair - helped me get over my odd day.
Where I'm StayingWhere I'm Staying
Where I'm Staying

Nice little house, run by two really nice people. My room is around back.


Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0613s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb