Market Day and Kayaking the Dordogne


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Aquitaine » Dordogne
September 15th 2009
Published: September 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

September 5, 2009 - Salat & Dordogne River, France

We walked down this morning to Sarlat as today was the big market day. Once we hit the village we were amazed by all of the vendors and booths that had appeared overnight. They must have started brining people in at 2 am. The food was amazing. Butchers were there with fresh meats and sausages and fresh fish. Huge wheels of cheese, which we tried several. And of course tons of people selling and letting you taste fois gras.

The fruits and veggies where most impressive as you bought them from the local farmers. I tried to buy just a couple of nice peaches and got yelled at from the farmers wife. I assumed I couldn’t buy only a few as she kept loading me up with more fruit. I didn’t argue... we have been eating a lot of peaches. I saw a couple walking a Corgi and nearly accosted them. I told them my dog was in prison and I missed him. They were from Belgium and didn’t speak much English so I think they thought I just got out of prision and wanted to steal their dog. Anyway, I got my Corgi fix. We ended up with the best melons, peaches, a rotisserie chicken and some socks for Andrew. A fun experience - the smells and colors where overwhelming.

After having some of our market goodies for lunch we went to the village of Beynac where we rented a double kayak for a day on the River Dordogne. The sun was shining except for a few puffy clouds and there was a cool breeze so this was perfect weather for me. We rounded the first corner and in front of us was a huge castle perched on a high cliff. And another castle was on the other side. At one time the French ruled one side of the river and the English the other so they had competing castles. You know, keeping up with the Jones.

At every bend there was another gorgeous cliffside village dressed with stone buildings and colorful flower-boxes with many steps leading to the top of the village where a castle would stand. From a distance, it looked like you where sailing toward Cinderella’s castle. These views joined us all the way down river for about 14km. What a great day on the river Dordogne.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



16th September 2009

what a nice place
I wish to be there some days!

Tot: 0.278s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb