On the road again


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Aquitaine » Bordeaux
July 20th 2008
Published: July 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Gare TGV Gare TGV Gare TGV

At Charles DeGaule Aéroport in Roissy/Paris
I woke up real early again today (darn stomach!) but I had to be on the road for Bordeaux at 9 am so it wasn't all that bad in retrospect. Had a light breakfast of some bread and butter and a small glass of grapefruit juice and some coffee, packed up my clothes that I needed and my computer and was out the door just before 9. The drive was quite easy and it took me about 3 1/2 hours to get from Crocq to Bordeaux. It was interesting to watch the landscape change from evergreen and big deciduous tree forests and pastureland to mostly deciduous trees and vineyards.....from big, winding hills to relatively flat land. The sun shone most of the way and I got through 4 CDs on the way. It's so nice to be able to sing at the top of your lungs if you want and not annoy anyone! I arrived in time for a delicious lunch of salad, ratatouille and saussison with the attendant wine and cheese and bread. Colette is a wonderful cook! After lunch we all had a sieste and I finished reading an amazing book about an Australian man and his life in
Lunch at Haute Smith-LafitteLunch at Haute Smith-LafitteLunch at Haute Smith-Lafitte

Alain, Colette and Jean-François
western Australia in the early- to late-20th century. Jean-François and Colette had visited Australia just back in May and this book was recommended by the people in Perth with whom they exchanged homes. It is quite the story! All of the sudden, it was dinner time! Again, the most excellent chef, Colette, cooked up a very good and interesting dinner. It was a salad along with a stack of mashed potatoes, Boudin (blood sausage!) and apples layered and presented beautifully. It tasted great! Need I mention there was wine, cheese and bread, too? 😊 So, here I am writing this blog and about to head to bed and start my new book about Louis XIV and his many mistresses! I have a few photos I'd like to share. They are not from any particular day but I think they deserve a place in this blog. I'd like to thank everyone who has been reading this blog. I really appreciate the comments and well-wishes!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Les ChefsLes Chefs
Les Chefs

J-F and Oscar (grandson - 2) baking "le creusois"
St. Bard's ChurchSt. Bard's Church
St. Bard's Church

This is the wedding photo of J-F's parents taken at St. Bard's Church many years ago! J-F never knew where the photo was taken until he saw my photo of St. Bard's
My favourite France flowersMy favourite France flowers
My favourite France flowers

Les cocquilicots (poppies)
War Memorial in CrocqWar Memorial in Crocq
War Memorial in Crocq

Every town in France (that I have ever seen) has a war memorial with the names of the men who died in WWI and WWII


Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb