An easy but beautiful day


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Aquitaine » Bordeaux
July 4th 2008
Published: July 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today was a bit less of a busy day. In the morning, after breakfast, I went on a walk and took 130 photos of the railings/balustrades that adorn many of the windows in Bordeaux. There are hundreds and thousands, I'm sure! Many are unique and I thought it would make a good composite poster when I return home. I can just see it printed, framed and put on my kitchen wall! I'll post a few of them today. I walked for about an hour and found myself at the Marché des Capusins where we went the first day I was in Bordeaux. I bought a beautiful hibiscus for J-F and Colette to put in their garden. After I returned from my walk Jean-François and I hopped onto the bikes and rode off to have lunch at a lovely restaurant on the "quai" along the Garonne River. The weather today was perfect even though I got a sunburn on my arms during our ride. After a delicious lunch we rode our bikes to the museum of contemporary art to have "une glace" (ice cream though it was really sorbet!). After we had our glace, we returned Chez Carrazé and relaxed for the rest of the day. At about 8:30, J-F and I walked to the train station - Gare St. Jean - to meet my mother who arrived to join me today. We returned to the house, my mother had a nice shower to refresh her after her 19 hour journey so that she could enjoy a late light dinner with us. You must know that Colette is a wonderful cook....even for salads! We ate dinner and chatted until almost midnight when my mother called it a day and we all decided to turn in. I am now writing my blog and as soon as I upload my photos of the day, I will hit the sack. Bonne nuit!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Porte de la Maison Carrazé et EsperancePorte de la Maison Carrazé et Esperance
Porte de la Maison Carrazé et Esperance

The door of the house of Carrazé and Esperance


5th July 2008

Beautiful Balustrades
Sandi your pictures of the balustrades are beautiful. Do people live in large apartment style homes in this town. What is the age of the town?

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0229s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb