A cool day


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Aquitaine » Bordeaux
July 2nd 2008
Published: July 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today was cloudy and cool....just what I needed after the 32C yesterday! I am still waking up in the middle of the night. I sure hope that stops sooner than later. I got up today at about 8:30 and had my usual delicious cheese and bread with coffee breakfast. I'm attaching a photo of the cheese board which my friend labeled for me. My favourites were the Reblochon, Morbier and Saint-Nectaire fermier. After breakfast, Jean-François and I walked to the market to buy a few things for lunch preparation and then we hopped on the bikes and rode to the butchers to buy some lamb, paté de campagne and rillette (VERY fattening and VERY good!). Jean-François took me to the tram to show me how to use it and then we did a circuit of sight-seeing from the tram. When we returned to the house an hour later, Colette had prepared a very delicious lunch for us which we ate out in the garden. We shared a bottle of wine from the vineyard of a friend of J-F from the Jura region. It was a rosé colour and very nice. After lunch Colette and I went shopping in the busy shopping district. I bought a pair of shoes and a light top. We came home and relaxed until dinner time when we hopped back on the bikes and rode to a restaurant that J-F and Colette wanted to take me to but it was closed! So we rode back towards home and stopped at a couscous restaurant. It was so good! Of course, we had some wine with dinner. It was a red Moroccan wine called Sidi Brahim and it was very good and very strong! 14.5% alcohol. It was a lovely dinner outside (I love eating meals outside!). Back on the bikes and home again for the night. I am telling you all....come to Bordeaux and enjoy the joie de vivre!!! Excellent friends, food and conversation!! What more can you ask for? 😊



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0703s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb