Basque in Biarritz Sunshine


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Aquitaine » Biarritz
April 15th 2010
Published: April 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Panorama One of the many great views along the coastline

Day 29-32 Just 5 hours by train and I've exchanged the hustle and bustle of Paris for the slower lifestyle of Biarritz. I could get used to this pace. Biarritz is a tourist town on the southern Atlantic coast where all the rich and famous have spent some time.

This is my last chance for a rest (ha ha). My small backpack is ready for the walk (only about 5kgs without the water bottles full) and my large pack is to be collected and shipped to Santiago and held in storage for me when I arrive. At least I'll have clean clothes waiting for me. I'm sure I'll smell a bit like that cheese I tasted in Paris after 7 or 8 weeks. Come to think of it, every night on the trail could be spot the 'smelliest pilgrim night'.

Anyway, back to Biarritz. This quaint seaside town is just that. The cutest little village...very clean, very stylish, great restaurants and bars, and the views along the coastline are superb. A walk around the streets behind the main centre is a surprise with winding streets and very old buildings that make me think I'm in a time 300 years ago if it weren't for the parked Smart Cars. It is a very laid back village and it seems the perfect place to holiday if you really need the rest. The surf is not that great at the moment. Actually, it's flat as a tack. There's a surfing class going on today and there was nothing to practice on. Refunds all round. Although it's Spring, it is still very chilly. I'm still wearing scarves and double layers to keep warm.

I will say that I'm a bit sad to leave France this weekend. It has only been 10 days and I wish it could be more. Maybe I'll come back this way again and explore some more of the countryside.

Another day in paradise and then to St Jean Pied-de-Port.




Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 35; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb