Arcachon and Bordeaux


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Aquitaine » Arcachon
December 13th 2014
Published: December 14th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Saturday and I decided i would go to the town of Arcachon, just a one hour train trip south of Bordeaux. This is a fishing town where some of the worlds best oysters are cultivated.

Of course, on the lunch menu was oysters along with a nice glass of sav blanc. But before lunch, I did a walk up to the Parc Mauresque where you could see over the main part of the town and over to the bay. It was quite a steep walk up, and the view over the water was really nice viewing. I walked from there along the main shopping streets, and to a market where I found a nice little restaurant to have my lunch.

After lunch, it was a walk to the water, although it did start raining, and forced a lot of people indoors. It is just water of course, so on I trudged finding the small Christmas market where there was an iceskating rink built for the kids, and beyond that a small jetty where you could look over to the cape.

only 10km south is the biggest sand dune in Europe, but unfortunately closed during winter. It was time to start making my way back to the train, but not before having crèpes and espresso for afternoon tea 😊

What a satisfying day, as I get off the train, and hop off at the Palais De La Bourse. Normally there is a wonderful water fountain in front of this, but wasnt operating today. It still magnificent to look at, and opposite is the river. I walked up the street making my way to my hotel, but not before experiencing the enormous crowd that is normal for Saturday shopping.

relax night in for the evening with not much planned at all for Sunday.


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0631s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb