Day 12


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Alsace » Strasbourg
June 2nd 2009
Published: June 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today we visited a foie gras factory! The goose and duck foie gras was an experience. I enjoyed the goose much more than the duck. The wine that accompained it went perfect with it. In New York foie gras can not be served because the geese are force fed to make their livers bigger. The owner of the Foie Gras du Ried mentioned that the farmers he gets his geese from have a very good relationship with them. They feed the geese, then wait 30mins to an hour and feed them again and this continues throughout the day. While some of the group toured a brewery, the rest of us stayed in Strasbourg to do some shopping. First we sat at a little cafe and had coffee because it was too early to have lunch. After, Jamie had her portrait drawn by a sidewalk artist, which came out very well. I wanted to find a dress or maybe some cute shirts, and as I was walking around I was drawn into a purse shop. I bought a purse and matching wallet that I am so thrilled with. After shopping it was time to walk back to the bus stop to be picked up. Tonight is our farewell bbq, and I am excited to see what awards Elizabeth has made for everyone. This has been a trip of a lifetime for me, and I will never forget all of the things I saw, the new things I've learned, or forget the new friends I have met.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb