Day 8


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Alsace » Strasbourg
May 29th 2009
Published: May 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This morning we got to sleep in a bit and meet up outside at the bus around 10:00. We drove into Strasbourg and took a boat tour of the city down the River lll. We listened to little head phones as we floated down the river. I switched my headset over to French for a bit, but I really didn't understand much at all. Oh well. I found the lock and dam system to be entertaining to take part in. They shut off a part of the river to raise or lower our boat to get us level with the next part of the river. Pretty nifty. Then a group of us went to eat lunch at a little bread place. I got a piece of bread with some cheese and bacon on top, then we all passed our plates around to try everyones. They were all very delicious. My favorite part of the day was going to the chocolate maker's place. Nothing can even try to come close to being as good as Christian's chocolate. The man was so passionate about his chocolate and making sure his sweets were the best, newest, and most creative around, but not in a competitive way. I think his main competition was himself. He pushed himself to come up with new ideas for how to make his chocolate taste better and with unique flavors. He never listens to what others say to him and never buys chocolate for the name, he buys for his own preference. When I get a job, I hope I am atleast half as passionate as he is about his work. His hard work paid off because his chocolate and ice cream, i can easily say, are the best I have ever put in my mouth, and I have eaten alot of chocolate and ice cream in my time. We had alot of tonight off to hang out at the Chateau. Vanessa and I went down to the Jardin de Portales for dinner tonight and had some wine and veal, and just enjoyed our time. When we returned we joined a group on the patio outside and chit chatted a while before coming in to type my blog and head to bed. Yet another great day in Europe.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0312s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb