Day 7


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Alsace » Strasbourg
May 28th 2009
Published: May 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This morning was our last morning to wake up at the Hotel Central in Engelberg. It was actually pretty sad, I wasn't quite ready to leave that quaint little town. We headed in towards Lucerne but stopped off at a glass factory/museum. The museum part was very interesting and a really neat layout. It was neat to hear about how the glassblowers were looked so down upon and not well paid while the owners just reaped the benefits. I loved getting to watch all the men blowing glass and making the bottles and bowls. It was crazy to me how they were just hanging out in shorts and sandals when they were messing with glass that was over 1000 degrees (I think it was that hot, maybe I just made that part up, I just know it was really really hot!) THEN, my favorite part... I got to blow my own glass ball! It was soo cool! The man got everything all ready and set up then he twirled it around as I blew into the glass blowing pipe to form this little ball looking ornament thing. I think it's gorgeous, but I am probably just being a little biased... That's a once in a lifetime experience I won't ever forget. The man who helped us out put a piece of wood on top of the little ball that Jamie blew and the wood caught fire. That just goes to show how hot that glass is. Woah! After shopping a bit in the glass shop, we headed into Lucerne for lunch. I personally am glad that was my last swiss meal. I didn't hate the food, but it never quite hit the spot. We got one last time to walk around the city, then headed to the Palace Lucerne, a five star hotel, for a tour. The Palace Lucerne was absolutely gorgeous! I liked it more than the hotel we toured in Interlaken. The lady who toured us was very nice and informative. She made it interesting to hear all about their service to their guests. The tour ended and we piled into the bus for the drive to France. I'm pretty sure it took longer than we expected, but I didn't mind because I slept quite a bit of it. Immediately when we got to the chateau, we dropped our bags off and walked up the road to a little restaurant. Earlier I said the Swiss food didn't hit the spot... well this food did!! Boy oh boy it was delicious! I spoke a little bit of French to our servers. I told them I loved chocolate cake, that we wanted more water, and asked her how much the wine was. They told me that I did a very good job! I think they enjoyed hearing my French. After we devoured our dinner we walked back to the chateau and really got to appreciate it's beauty. It is old and really kind of creepy, but it is breath taking! I don't like hearing that it is haunted, but atleast they say she's a nice ghost. It's confusing to find my way around, especially since it is dark out, but once I get it down, I am going to fall in love with this place just as much as I did with Switzerland.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb