If only I had more time... and money


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Alsace » Strasbourg
November 10th 2007
Published: November 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

StrasbourgStrasbourgStrasbourg

About 4:30pm and the lights are already being turned on
Well, it's official, the countdown has begun. Two months from now I'll be arriving back in Australia. I'm so torn between being excited to get back, earning money again and finishing my degree, and being incredibly sad to be leaving this beautiful city that has so quickly become my home. I keep trying to tell myself that two months is still a long time, but my subconsciousness is already preparing. I'm having dreams about being back in Australia and waking up a bit panicky, then realising with relief that I'm still here.

I guess the best thing about going home is the fact that it'll be nice and hot in January. It's starting to get so cold here, and it gets dark so early. Most days I don't leave home without a scarf, and the gloves will be out soon as I'm finding I don't walk very far before my hands end up in my pockets - even my hair feels cold! And being a pretty big bicycle town it's funny to watch people riding their bikes now - in the rain holding onto an umbrella or just with their scarves wrapped around their faces because that icy breeze just
Strasbourg Plage - Sans La PlageStrasbourg Plage - Sans La PlageStrasbourg Plage - Sans La Plage

Plage being beach - Strasbourg's beach without the beach. Pretty popular place to sit by the river and drink in summer - not so popular now!
doesn't let up no matter how fast you go.

And it's getting dark. Oh, so dark. I think partly because the sun's just setting earlier, but also because the clouds are so thick the sun's having trouble pushing through. I finished class the other day at 4pm and it was already quite dark, and the sun is completely gone by around 5:30pm. It was fantastic in summer when the days were longer than in Australia, staying light until 10:30-11pm, but now we're paying the price for being that bit further from the equator by losing more and more daylight everyday.

Nevertheless I'm still very happy to be here. I just hope that all that cold weather will result in my first ever White Christmas. Speaking to the Strasbourgois that have lived here their whole lives doesn't give me a lot of hope though. They said over the last few years it's snowed less and less, general beliefs are that global warming is to blame, and that the chances of snow this Christmas are quite low. I'm not going to stop wishing though, it's going to be my only chance to see one for a long time!

Apart
Funniest bus name ever!!Funniest bus name ever!!Funniest bus name ever!!

Laura and I actually ran after this bus to take a photo - we couldn't believe our eyes!
from the sudden change of weather there isn't much new going on. Still studying, still partying, still going to the gym - although going to the gym's becoming more and more difficult. I walk to the gym because I don't like paying for the tram, and I feel too guilty jumping on the tram without paying so I prefer to just walk. But the gym is about a 25 minute walk away and in the freezing rain it's not very tempting! There's a lot of psyching myself up to be done when I'm in my toasty warm room, nice and dry, to find the motivation to head out into the cold just to keep fit.

I can only hope that after two more months of this weather, getting colder and darker than it already is, that I'll be more than happy to jump on that plane back home. And the fact that JB now has his visa and will be coming to Australia too, it makes it a bit more like an adventure. I'll get to see Australia with new eyes, discover the country as he does for the first time. I'll try to see it like the excitement's not over, it's just changing location!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Justice ConcertJustice Concert
Justice Concert

French DJ's who've become pretty popular - we went to their concert in Strasbourg a few weeks back. It was awesome!
View from my windowView from my window
View from my window

The view slowly becoming as it was when I first arrived.
To pack or not to pack...To pack or not to pack...
To pack or not to pack...

The items I've collected and been given over the year that I'm going to have to get home somehow - not the flowers though, they died a while back!


14th November 2007

At last!
So lovely to get another blog update. Glad JB has his visa. It is SO different seeing the photos now that I have seen the places in reality - Just great!!! Enjoy the cold experience for like other experiences in life it will pass & hopefully turn into a lovely memory!
23rd August 2010
Funniest bus name ever!!

new shuttle
The new shuttle was rolled out today from the parent bus service "Mother"

Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 87; dbt: 0.1264s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb