Did you eat a clown this morning?


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Alsace » Strasbourg
March 26th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The girls at OffshoreThe girls at OffshoreThe girls at Offshore

Our new favourite club!
Did you eat a clown this morning? (Tu as mangé un clown ce matin?) Absolutely, without a doubt, the funniest French phrase I've ever heard! Meaning; oh, you think you're so funny, what did you do - eat a clown this morning? I may have too much time on my hands but that saying just doesn't get old for me!

It's been a while since the last blog because all I've really done since I got back from Amsterdam is go out. I go to uni for the measly 8 hours I have per week, do the measly amounts of homework needed to keep up with the class while at uni, and for the rest of the time it's party o'clock!

Yes, I know I'm supposed to be here to study, but the way I see it is I've got two options; one, I could spend hours each day with a grammar book and a dictionary, learning vocabulary and practicing sentences, or two, I could go out, make friends with French people and hang out with them instead. I've gone for option two - much more sociable and it involves alcohol!

The people we've met so far have been so nice, and so very patient with my poor French. It's actually quite humbling to be around so many native speakers because they speak so fast I stare at their lips wondering how it’s physically possible to move them so quickly - which makes me realise how far I've got to go before I'm fluent in this crazy back-to-front language. I find that when I'm spoken to directly I understand a lot more (I think they put the breaks on for me) but when they're talking to one another it's like listening to swarming bees and trying to make sense out of it. It's all good though, all part of the experience.

I'm absolutely having the time of my life here; it gets better and better as the months go by. Although, I’m thinking of everyone back home this weekend, wishing I could see you for Easter. The Aussies are going to get together to have an Easter lunch, and then when the sun goes down it'll be time to put on those dancing shoes once again. But we're going out with a whole bunch of Frenchies so I like to see it as going out to do
Laura & YuriLaura & YuriLaura & Yuri

Yuri's our new Russian friend from uni. He's only 19 but he's one crazy Russian who knows how to do more things with vodka than anyone I've met!
'homework'. Just because I choose to do my homework in a crowded place that happens to play loud music with a vodka in my hand doesn’t mean I’m not learning. Everyone has their own methods and I’ve found one that works for me!

Happy Easter!!! XOXOXO




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Me, Diana & LizetteMe, Diana & Lizette
Me, Diana & Lizette

Out celebrating the completion of our first assignment for uni back in Sydney.
Mathius, Julien and JBMathius, Julien and JB
Mathius, Julien and JB

Some of our new French friends who came out to celebrate the assignment completion with us. Noone really needs a reason to go out but it's fun to pretend!
The Aussie girls; Laura, Diana, Lizette, me, DheepthiThe Aussie girls; Laura, Diana, Lizette, me, Dheepthi
The Aussie girls; Laura, Diana, Lizette, me, Dheepthi

And Mathius up front who jumped in at the last minute, desperate to be Australian!
Stephanie & LauraStephanie & Laura
Stephanie & Laura

Stephanie's another friend we've made out and about.
Mamma Mia in the Alsacian MuseumMamma Mia in the Alsacian Museum
Mamma Mia in the Alsacian Museum

Kristian and I having an inappropriate ABBA moment.


8th April 2007

Happy Easter
I am sure you are enjoying a wonderful French Easter in your own Australian way!
8th April 2007

Happy Easter Susin, it is raining in Sydney much to the horror of the organisers of the Easter show. Hope you have heaps of fun. I'm sure the Easter bunny will find you.
10th April 2007

Cool!
Cool! Live it up...
13th April 2007

hahaha
looks like great fun, who were you kidding if you ever thought you were gonna stay home all the time ..........thats ridiculous! INTERESTING photos ;-) hi hi hi, cute i think!

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0262s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb