Last Day of Teaching!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Alsace » Mulhouse
April 17th 2009
Published: April 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello!

It's been awhile since I've written on here so I thought I would send an update with what I've been up to! Today was my last day of teaching. I can't believe how fast these 7 months have passed but I'm excited to be heading home soon! 19 days from today I think!

Last weekend I was in Paris for Easter with some friends from Rosemont who visited for the week. Erin and Nyssa came to Mulhouse for 2 days and then we headed to Paris for the weekend where we met up with our other friend Lauren. Erin and Lauren were also French majors at Rosemont so it was fun to be in France with them. We also visited the town of Reims, about 45 minutes northeast of Paris last Friday afternoon. It was a fun weekend and I'm really happy they were able to visit me in France!

Now that I'm finished with teaching, I have less than 3 weeks till I return home. Tomorrow morning I leave for Annecy, France where I will be running a half-marathon race with my friend Andromeda on Sunday. I'm really excited for that. Andromeda's boyfriend, Ben, has an uncle and aunt who live in Annecy so we'll be staying with him and they are quite excited for us to visit! Wish me luck!!

I have one last trip planned with my friend Franzi before heading home. We'll be leaving for Amsterdam next Wednesday, and then visiting Antwerpen and Bruges in Belgium! Next Friday is my 23rd birthday so it will be a nice birthday present!

I'll be moving out of my apartment on April 30th and visiting some of the English teachers before I leave Mulhouse. Since I'm moving out on April 30th and my flight isn't until May 6th, Pascale and Jean-Pierre(the family I spend every Sunday with) invited me to come and stay with them for those few days before I leave for Strasbourg to catch a bus to Frankfurt to catch my flight back to Philadelphia! It's really nice of them to let me stay with them and it will be fun to spend some more time with them before I leave. They have been so nice to me these past few months and have become my second family. Pascale is already planning things for us to do since they are on break too.


I had a great experience teaching in France and I've seen and done so many things over the past seven months. I've met so many new people and made some really good friends. I can't wait to come home and see everyone, especially my family!! I know my Dad is looking forward to me returning to Pottstown, PA and my mom, too.

I hope you've enjoyed my blog!!! Take care and see you all soon!

Kristen :-)




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



17th April 2009

I can't wait!
I'm so glad you've enjoyed yourself so much and done so many amazing things (b/c then I could read about them ;-))! Good luck in your race, happy birthday, and see you soon <3!
17th April 2009

half marathon
Remember to take your inhaler!
17th April 2009

Happy Birthday and Enjoy the trip
Kris - once again, your blog makes us all jealous! Your journal is incredible and what an experience you have had. Enjoy your birthday and these last few weeks of fun and adventure! Much Love, Aunt Kate
21st April 2009

See you soon!
I can't believe your time in France is almost up. 7mos has flown by! Congrats on the half marathon! That's quite an accomplishment! See you soon. Have a safe trip home! xoxo

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb