Self-Guided Walking Tour: Helsinki Edition


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland » Uusimaa » Helsinki
April 16th 2015
Published: April 16th 2015
Edit Blog Post

It's my last day in Helsinki, and in Finland, and I've got a lot to see still. I spend the day wandering with a purpose around the city, ticking off attractions as I hit them.

First is the 'red cathedral,' really an old Russian Orthodox Church perched properly atop a hill near my hostel. I had passed it several times already, but hadn't yet taken time to appreciate the incredible architecture, or to actually go inside and check it out; both of which I proceed to do. Like any old church, it was littered with paintings, spectacular chandeliers (yes Sia, I know you want to swing from them), and silencio signs. I had never seen a church of this religion before, and it was pretty intense... Definitely glad I checked it out.

The next stop on my journey was the cathedral cathedral, the huge one in the centre square of Helsinki. Pure white, with accents of green and gold trimmings, it too was perched atop a hill, with 47 steps leading up to it (yes I counted, there may have been 46, and now this is gonna bug me!). Unfortunately, when I went to go in, there was a sign on the door, on which I could only understand "Parliamentary Service" so I assumed I was unable to see the inside today.

A little disappointed, but later assured that the outside is nicer than in, I moved on to, I'm not really sure, next.

I ended up shushing my wallet in the largest and oldest department store in Finland, the Stockman, with hundreds of designer stores and cafés... I tried to leave as soon as I realized I didn't want to pay 60€ for a pair of underwear, but the strategic placement of the exits prevented me from doing so for a while!

When I finally made it out, I luckily came across the art gallery that Berto had told me about the day before, and wandered in to see the strangely intriguing exhibit titled: "Puppy Orgy Acid Party" ... I kid you not! There were actually some pretty amazing paintings, some of which I'll attach to this post so you can see. Not even close to as weird as the title suggests, but hey, it's abstract art, you can't really expect much different.

I quickly Google the National History Museum of Finland, and set off in the right direction, hoping to kill sometime before meeting with Berto and his family for dinner. What I actually find, however, is the NATURAL History Museum of Finland, and spend 10€ to walk around looking at bones and stuff... Still pretty cool, and I guess I never would have seen the skeleton of a water buffalo otherwise, so that was fun!

I check the map on my phone again to see what else is in close proximity, and notice that the Olympic Stadium is not too far up the road. Excited, I head towards the 63 year old building to check out some history of sport. Accompanied by a massive tower (that I really didn't fancy going up, you know me and heights by now), the stadium itself was a cool thing to experience. Although I wasn't technically allowed in, the gentleman at the front desk let me in to view the inside and take some pictures.

Right in behind, on the opposite side, was the Hostel Stadion, an option I had when booking accommodations, but that was too far outside the city centre for my liking.

I headed back in the direction of the downtown, and my hostel, with the aim of going back for a nap and some food before meeting up with my Finnish friends. I was half hoping to stumble upon the Sibelius Monument that I had read about previously, but couldn't find wifi connection to pinpoint its exact location. Oh well, you can't see everything, right?

After a short nap, I am rejuvenated to walk put on some more km on top of the 14 I already had walked that morning. My heart is seriously jacked, and I'm sure that extra muscle is making up for my weight loss 😉

I find the restaurant we agree to meet at no problem, and meet Berto, his girlfriend and daughter inside. This is the best hotdog place in town, and I decide to go all or nothing and order the shrimp and lobster dog because YOLO, right, and when else are you gonna do that (ok maybe at Kyle's house actually, if you know anything about our past cooking experiences, aha). It was not at all surprisingly good.

Much to my relief and not at all inconveniencing to them, we agree to speak English around the table, and I am thoroughly impressed with Berto's daughter's linguistic skills! She is just 9 years old and pretty well fluent in the language already, as well as her own, of course. She will also start learning French in the fall, and then Swedish (the other national language in Finland) when she turns 13... Makes us average Canadians look quite incapable if you ask me, but kudos to her, for sure!

I've still got some time to put in before meeting with my Crestwood homie, so we end up headed to another favourite café called Brooklyn Café. The best vanilla latte I might add!

We stay till close and then head out together as we're going in the same direction. We talk more about Finland, and my travels, and eventually part ways, but not before taking a picture to keep as a memory. I am truly thankful for everything Berto did for me to make me feel at home in Helsknki!

I'm really lacking that lonely feeling today, as I move from acquaintance to acquaintance, meeting Kelcey at a really unique café right on the water, called Café Regatta (also right next to a rowing club, as you can probably
Another CathedralAnother CathedralAnother Cathedral

Oh, I stumbled across this one too!
guess by the name!). We sit and chat about normal Canadian stuff and it's really nice for me (and I'm sure for her as well) to talk about Tim's and Mr. van der Bank without getting a blank stare in return, lol. It's nearing time for us to head our separate ways, but not before I discover something really cool.

Remember earlier when I said, "Oh well, you can't see everything, right?"

WRONG!

I look out the window of the café, and there looking back at me is the face of Mr. Sibelius and the magnificent monument erected in his honour. Kelcey had also never seen this close up, so we take a selfie, cause that's what you're supposed to do with cool things and cool people.

We head back towards the city and part our ways, and I head back to the hostel to start the packing process again. But not before running into a grocery store 1 minute before closing to grab some Finnish made chocolate I have been repeatedly told about today. I felt no shame walking down the street with a huge chocolate bar the size of my big feet in hand... It was good. Really good.

And so was Finland, but tomorrow (well today actually but I won't confuse you) I say goodbye, as I fly out early in the morning.

Good night Finland, it's been real!

- NB



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Patrick?Patrick?
Patrick?

Patrick is that you?


Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0727s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb