Tallinn


Advertisement
Estonia's flag
Europe » Estonia » Tallinn
November 22nd 2008
Published: November 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I woke in the morning to the tune of three snoring noses, a stuffy cabin, and blaring music. We had attempted to throw a makeshift 'party' in our cabin the night before, and the music selected 6am as the opportune time to begin working. Unable to sleep further, I got dressed and walked to the upper deck to look out over the water. We were about to land. I went to the breakfast buffet- leftovers from last night's meal- and ate. And thought. It was the most 'out of my element' I had felt in a very long time and I had not a clue what to expect from this country whose people had greeted us less than kindly during the night's travel.

The city was mysterious to me. Unlike any place I'd been before. The cobble stones were not worn, as they had been in other places I'd traveled. The buildings were ancient, but tall for the city, and looked as though elves might've lived here. I know you are laughing when I say this, but there reall is no better way to describe the way it was in this town, Tallinn. I wandered around the first day, looking
ES4ES4ES4

marzipan
at little shops, trying to find good deals (because you get 12 Estonian crown to the dollar, as opposed to Danish crown, where the average return rate is 5). I still couldn't figure this place out though. Then, the second night, we went to dinner at a medieval restaurant where the servers were all dressed in medieval clothing and the lighting and furnishings were set to match.... It finally clicked! That's how I felt everyone should be dressed and how all the lighting should be in this town! It was a place fashioned after medieval times, with walking contradictions of modernly-dressed people. Really really interesting.

Recently independent from Soviet rule, Estonian schools still reflected quite a bit of Russian influence- at least the ones we visited. Apparently about half of the country still has Russian-influenced schools, the rest are vehemently apposed to any trace of Russian influence. Here the schools were not o friendly-looking. Students were crowded into small spaces, even in large rooms, and drilled and drilled until they performed the given task to perfection. It reminded me of the year I spent in North Dakota, studying with that Russian formerly of the Bolshoi Ballet. It was all
ES1ES1ES1

Woman in the Marzipan Museum, painting the marzipan
about product, and process was certainly an afterthought, at best.

At any rate, there is much more to tell, but at least that gives you a taste of how the city was and just a glimpse of the political tension still very relevant to Estonians' everyday lives.

After two days in Estonia, we flew back to Copenhagen and many of us were happy to be home but thankful for the experiences we had and would most likely not get again.

*Side note: Estonia's claim to fame: apparently it was an Estonian that first invented Skype, the online program that allows for people to call places all over the world, for cheap (my lifesaver on this term abroad)!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

ES6ES6
ES6

Parliament, over-looking the whole city
ES10ES10
ES10

Estonian currency
ES13ES13
ES13

Flight back from Estonia to Copenhagen


13th November 2008

In the Moment
Thanks for the glimpse into Tallinn...I felt like I was with you those first few blocks!!
9th January 2009

Well...
he he he .... Americans, Americans .....
22nd January 2009

WOW, what a great experience!
Hi Kjirsten, It's your Uncle John. I just found your travel blog. How fun to read about all of your adventures. I've never been to the old Soviet block countries. Thanks for sharing your journey!

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb