Baltic Ibiza


Advertisement
Estonia's flag
Europe » Estonia » Parnu
July 20th 2003
Published: July 20th 2003
Edit Blog Post

Parnu BeachParnu BeachParnu Beach

Not the "ladies beach" that would break my hosting t's and c's.
On the south west coast of Estonia lies the seaside town of Parnu - Pµnðßæ«»¢“”nµæßðđŋħjĸł@łe¶ŧ←↓→øþ - OK I can't find the "a" with two little dots over it. The "a" in Parnu is one of those, and gives it a quite different sound to the one shown, so different that I had to write down the name in order to purchase a bus ticket.

Parnu is Estonia's holiday destination, there is a stretch of sand in a horse shoe shape around two miles long, covered with slightly sunburnt (or very sunburnt) northern europeans. The beach has a nudist area entirely for women (how bizzare?)... which I was unfortunate enough to find myself in this morning (didn't read the signs - Ladies Beach - what does that mean?). It wasn't the pleasant experience I would have imagined it to be - but one that will stay with me a while, all shapes and sizes of "lady" soaking up the sun where the sun wasn't meant to shine.

A rocky sea wall that stretches out a mile into the sea, loads of people walk along it and when at the end kind of wonder why they bothered as there is nothing there. I sat for an hour and contemplated my existance.

I'm staying in a nice new hostel - Hostel Louna - email - hostellouna at hot.ee - and the best thing for me is that I spotted a hub behind a TV in the communual area... plugged in my laptop, a couple of proxies later and woohoo free internet! I'm writing this right now on that connection.

Last night I went to Club Tallinn - somewhat dissappointing. Tonight I don't know. The tourists in Parnu tend to be either - 35+ = Finnish - looking for mud baths, less than 35 = Estonian. Very few backpackers - and I'm yet to meet any English, American or Germans. Though I have met several Australians...


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



22nd July 2005

i just returned from a holiday in eestonia with my wife, who is eesti. what a totally unique place it was. can't wait to go back. in the summer

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 38; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb