Copenhagen


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark
August 21st 2019
Published: August 21st 2019
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday evening, after I wrote my blog, I went out to Tivoli Gardens. It is an entertainment park similar to Disney, but much older (founded in 1843). There are live performances, rides for kids and for adults, games (eg Whack-A-Mole), and many restaurants. I had pizza and a glass of red wine at an Italian place that looks out over the little lake. The lake has a pirate ship that you can go on (I think it’s a restaurant). The entire place was quite busy with locals and tourists and people of all ages. It turns magical after dark when the lights come on. There are fireworks just before 11pm, but I didn’t stay around to see those. Still, it’s an enjoyable place to stroll and spend an evening. Today I spent my time inside museums. I had intended to do more than that, but I was so taken with the National Museum that I wound up spending most of my day there. I was particularly interested in the extensive exhibition on Vikings, which also entailed a guided tour. There is a wide range of artifacts including a collection of lur horns (used in ceremonies) and rune stones (used as commemorative markers). For those of you who, like me, can’t get enough information about Vikings, stay tuned because tomorrow I expect to have more to report! Anyway, I finally finished seeing what I wanted in the National Museum and went across the street to the Carlsberg Glyptotek. It’s a collection of art that was put together by the owner of Carlsberg Brewing in the late 19th century and includes famous sculptures by the likes of Rodin and pantings by the Impressionists, including Van Gogh. For dinner tonight I went back to Tivoli, but didn’t stay very long. I had a burrito and a glass of Carlsberg beer in honor of the museum.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb