Copenhagen


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark
August 20th 2019
Published: August 20th 2019
Edit Blog Post

I slept pretty well last night on the rocking ship and this morning I was up in time to snap a picture of Elisnor as we passed by. Shakespeare fans will recall that this is the fictional home of Hamlet the melancholy Dane. I had a fine breakfast - including a Danish - and disembarked in Copenhagen a couple of hours later. In town I took a canal cruise that went past the statue of The Little Mermaid out in the harbor. There were lots of tourists on land taking pictures of her, as well. Afterward I did a tour of Christianborg Palace, one of the residences of the Danish royal family. I was not very impressed, I must say, but one thing that I did like was the tapestries hanging in one of the big halls. They are quite recent and the colors are vivid. Old tapestries in museums are always so faded that it’s hard to appreciate why they are valued. I’m told that originally the old ones were just as brightly colored as these new ones, so I’ll think about that the next time I see an old one in a museum somewhere.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.316s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb