Cinema Dance


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic
April 24th 2006
Published: April 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

House next doorHouse next doorHouse next door

A few doors down from us were sheep and houses. The country life.
Don’t let the name confuse you. We did not get to dance much, though it was still an awesome weekend and I got 3 full college credits for it and made a film with 3 others. The purpose of the name is to compare cinema to dance were the individual has to work hard though only when you collaborate and work as a team will the film or the dance be successful.

So I spent the whole weekend in a group with 3 others working on a film. Our film was a comedy and has to do with smazny syr (fried cheese). For those that want to see it I can show you when I get home. My job was DP (Director of Photography). Though we all worked on every part together and since the director did not know much about filmmaking I helped out with directing a lot to. It was just a fun light project, we did not have much time so I didn’t have the opportunity to be a perfectionist like I normally am.

One of the best parts of the experience is learning about living in a small village in the Czech country side (by Poland). There were sheep and horses a few doors down and we were able to see how the Czech country people interact and try to interact with them, though few knew English. We used a really cute Czech kid in out film and were able to use the Czech language a lot.

There were 15 of us living in a house that some of the Czechs manage and rent out. They also made us food everyday (there are no restaurants or grocery stores near by). It was a cute town, though it was cold and there was still snow around. Hopefully that was my last experience of cold, especially because I just sent home all my winter cloths with someone’s parents (who also lives in the bay area).

I tried to get a few pictures of what the countryside there looked like. I had an awesome weekend. Not only did I get some fresh air but got to make a film. It reminded me how much I love to make films, it was good practice and just makes me realize there is nothing besides filmmaking that I could do with my life.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

The walk from the bus to our small townThe walk from the bus to our small town
The walk from the bus to our small town

There was still snow around. It was beautiful though and was nie getting fresh air.
Darci between the rooms at our weekend houseDarci between the rooms at our weekend house
Darci between the rooms at our weekend house

There were 6 people per room and 15 students


Tot: 0.29s; Tpl: 0.031s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0799s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb