Praha - Better known (for some reason) as Prague


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
July 30th 2006
Published: July 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Charles BridgeCharles BridgeCharles Bridge

Locally known as Karluv Most
After my misadventure on the train, and the subsequent drawn=out experience with the Police, I finally managed to check-in at the apartment I had rented, only to find out that, despite paying more here than for anywhere else I stayed on this trip, it was really below average in terms of the standard (I think I was just unlucky.....things are generally cheap here).

So needless to say, my stay here did not start off on a positive note. But I REALLY wanted to see this city, so I was prepared to give it a go.

My next concern was that the city may not live up to the hype - as I had heard so much about Prague, and built an expectation prior to arriving.......but this fear was soon dispelled. Put simply.......I had a great time. The city is amazing. So beautiful, and so much to do. Unfortunately though, I'm not the only one with this opinion...........as the city seems over-run with tourists. many streets and main tourist destinations are packed with people (just like me) with a map and camera in hand (Yes......obviously I purchased another camera, which I´m yet to master).

Its very difficult to picture
Astonomical ClockAstonomical ClockAstonomical Clock

Popular attraction in the Old Town Square
what things would have been like here prior to 1989 - but I imagine that English speaking tourists would not have had it as easy as I did. There were no language difficulties to speak of.

At least my apartment was centrally located, and while I made use of the local transport system (Metro and trams), the place is easy enough to walk around.

I also took a guided day-trip tour to Kutna Hora which, as well as being quite a lovely place in itself, contains Sedlec Kostnice = the ´Bone Church´- that contains the bones of some 40,000 people......decoratively arranged of course. I felt a little ill at ease taking pictures here (it didn´t exactly seem dignified for the deceased)........ but I did it anyway.

I also managed to go to the opera one night. I saw Mozartś Don Giovani in a beautiful old theatre (it actually had its world premiere here all those years ago).

So, on my enjoyment scale from 1 to 10, where 1 equates to cesnekova (I´m sure itś lovely......but just not my thing), and 10 equates to knedlo-zelo-vepro (a local dish much more in my taste)......I would rate my experience with a 9.

Next stop Krakow (an early morning start ahead........as I will not take another night train).



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

View of Vltava RiverView of Vltava River
View of Vltava River

Taken from Letna Park
View from Vysehrad CastleView from Vysehrad Castle
View from Vysehrad Castle

Looking back toward the city centre
Bone ChurchBone Church
Bone Church

Pyramid of bones
Bone Church IIBone Church II
Bone Church II

Made using every bone in the human body
Tourists aplentyTourists aplenty
Tourists aplenty

On the way to Prague Castle


Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb