Shifting to School Mode


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
July 11th 2006
Published: July 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Greetings, greetings long overdue!

Well, I've been meaning to update for over a week now, and I'm finally finding the time to do so. If you read my last entry, from last Saturday when we were still in Berlin, then I must apologize for lying to you. I said that we were on our way to Dresden, but that never happened. We got a little anxious that day, and also realized that it would be more cost effective, and we headed straight to Prague. Dresden did look beautiful through the train windows though.

So, it was about a five hour train ride from Berlin to Prague, but we made it here by the late afternoon/early evening last Saturday. We found the Pension that we were going to be staying at for school, and checked in a couple days early. We met Julie, another Columbia student who was still here since the first session, and she graciously became our tour guide.

Prague is incredible. I'll hopefully be posting pictures up soon, but I would encourage anyone to google pictures of The Charles Bridge, Petron Hill, or the Old Town Square.

Last Monday, the day that everyone else was showing up for the session, I went out and bought a guitar. I know! I'm supposed to be on vacation and here for school at the same time, but I couldn't help it! It had only been about two weeks, but it was driving me crazy not to play. At the very least, I managed to find a very inexpensive one that also sounds pretty nice, and bought a decent case to boot. The only downside to the whole fiasco, was that I broke a string the day after I bought it. Just my luck.

Other than that, we started classes last Wednesday, and while I am optimistic about them I have to admit that it's been a bit difficult to shift into school mode while this all still feels like vacation. I'm getting it this week though, and I've been reading an excellent book entitled, "The Unbearable Lightness of Being," by Milan Kundera, so I am truly starting to feel inspired.

The other students here are all pretty wonderful as well. I knew a few of them already, but I've met some new people along the way as well. Last Friday, a bunch of us went out to this five story dance club downtown, which is apparently the largest dance club in all of eastern Europe. On Saturday, we went out to this jazz club, and that was really cool. The venue itself was in this old building that seemed to be used for some sort of coal storage, or a dungeon. Either way, the band playing was phenominal.

So it's been a lot of fun so far, and I'll hopefully have some pictures of the entire trip up soon. Hope all is well at home, and please, please email me to let me know what's going on with all of you. (Three weeks away, and I'm STARTING to feel the tiniest bit homesick)

Talk to ya soon,

Jason

Advertisement



11th July 2006

Soak it up!!
Damn!!! It's Been a while- You didn't get ambushed by any Leprecauns when you were in Neil land did you? J/K Well it sounds as though you are having a great time and I am glad to hear it. Life here is good, I am excited to hear the new Tom York albumn but, I have not had the chance yet. I will save you a copy when that occurs. A new guitar? Adds to the flavor, anybody else that gives you shit, just doesn't understand. Ben and I are having gay sex....I mean a BBQ tomorrow and you will be missed. Take pictures and care of yourself, so you can tell stories to me when you arrive home. Enjoy your trip Jason, Nick
11th July 2006

Jason, sounds freaking awesome, good luck with all your goings on. I started my internship on Wedsnesday, and it rocks. I might be moving to Miineapolis in a few months to play guitar for Aaron, and do some studio work in the Twin Cities. Peace brother man, and party hard. -Pete
11th July 2006

Jason Paul! It is just like you to go away to a foreign country and buy a new guitar! You are too funny! Glad to hear school is going well. We miss you lots!
11th July 2006

Homesick eh?
Hey!!!...Im glad that your having a great time...Sounds amazing!!..I cant wait to see some pictures!!..Nothin much going on here...Alex moved into my house for a little while...Other than that, just the same as it was when you left...Are you planning to meet up with Ieva??.. Well gotta go...I cant wait to see you!!.. Enjoy the rest of your time..talk to you soon.. Brooke
8th August 2006

Summer Fun
Hi Jason - Sounds like you're having a great time in Prague. I'm jealous - I'd love to go there. Miss you and keep having fun and playing your new guitar! Love, your favorite cousin (you know, Jenn?) :)

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0885s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb