I'M HERE!!


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
July 9th 2006
Published: July 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello all!

I'm writing from my bedroom in the lovely dorm we are staying at in Prague! I'm sharing a room with my friend Katie, and then there are 2 other rooms that make up a suite. So there are 7 girls...with one bathroom...i.e. one shower. Should be interesting in the mornings... lol.

On Friday night I flew to St. Louis. I stayed at Katie's house-- for some reason, I could NOT fall asleep until like 2:00. So then we had to wake up at 7:00 (which meant I had not gotten enough hours of sleep to make up for all of the hours I was going to be missing). We got to the airport at around 8:30 to ensure that Katie and I would be able to get tickets together (which we were able to). So we were at the airport with about 2 hours to spare-- Finally at 10:30 our plane left. The flight was fine...except for Katie and I were stuck in the back row. Next to the bathroom. And it stunk. The stewardess came by to get us drinks, and she was like "If you want to fill out a complaint card about the smell, you can send it in and get a travel voucher or free frequent flier miles." I'm sure this kind of a scam to get us to fly United, but w/e- we thought it was funny and filled out the card anyway.

We got to D.C. and had about a 3-hour layover. Katie and I got to know the other people a little better, and walked around a lot. Finally we boarded for our flight to Frankfurt.

The plane was huge--but deceivingly so, because we had very little space between the seats for any sort of personal space. To make matters worse, I had a young girl sitting in front of me and she decided (being the GIANT person that she was...not...) that she needed to lean her seat all the way back, plus rock back and forth annoying me and others around me. She was also French (or she and her family spoke it, anyway). For some reason this annoyed me too. So eventually I got tired of her, and lightly started pushing back. (I know...I'm so mature...😊 ) At some point (during this 6 hour flight) she figured it out, and started standing up in her chair and turning around to look at me. But I wouldn't look her in the face, so I guess she figured Katie was the culprit. She leaned over to Katie and started chiding her in French-- I have no idea what she said, but it was funny to me. I figured I should probably act my age and quit- but I think it's funny to tell people I got into a fight with a tiny French girl.

We finally got to Frankfurt, and wandered around their confusing airport trying to find our next gate. We did, and waited about an hour for our flight to Prague. This flight was only an hour, and I slept the whole way.

We arrived in Prague early this morning--They have the most beautiful, modern, clean looking airport I've ever been to! This was a great sign for me-- we got our baggage, and then met up with our teacher, the Czech teacher and a few of his students that will be taking the class with us. They helped us to exchange some money, and then we left for our dorm. I haven't seen that much of Prague yet- but what I have seen is just so pretty! I can't wait to explore it more. We arrived at our dorm, and then all of us went to lunch. It was really great getting to talk with the Czech students (and obviously more with the people from Mizzou too). Now we have some down time, so I'm just writing this quick entry. I think I might try to take a little nap now...and maybe later watch the final World Cup game. Not that I'm a soccer fan or anything...but whatevs. Fun times are sure to follow!

Advertisement



9th July 2006

I like your bow
hi! i'm glad you like what you've seen of the Czech Republic so far. You should have told the little french girl off. Silly children. Anyways, keep on bloggin'.
9th July 2006

YEA!
whew-not that's done!! I bet you're going to root for Italy in the world cup finals today,huh! sounds you're off to a great start! hope you get some sleep after the initial excitement wears off! keep us posted! love you!
9th July 2006

Enjoy!
As you see, I found your blog. I'll be checking it often. Know you'll have a great summer. We were only in Prague for a few days, but I thought it was a beautiful and interesting city. Love, Grandma Didi
9th July 2006

:)
Yay! I'm glad you made it and love it so far. I was looking on facebook yesterday and saw the picture from the murder mystery dinner and it made me miss you. Have a great trip!
9th July 2006

:-)
I liked the story about the French girl. It was entertaining. So good to talk to you the other day! Hmmm.... I wonder what time it is in Praha, if it's 4 p.m. here, then is it like 11??
10th July 2006

Oh Miss Maxine...I am way envious of you globetrotting and enjoying wonderful Europe while I am studying for a physics exam and final. Please have extra fun for me. And bring me back a pair of earrings? Please? But they can't be as cool as the NKOTB ones...Missing you bunches
10th July 2006

I am sitting next to you, commenting because you're not on Facebook so it'd be dumb to comment on your wall. I am glad you're on this trip, it makes things more interesting :) *Poke Poke*
12th July 2006

Glad you are there safely. The French are annoying and make bad ads:) Learn lots about advertising so we can do a study this spring. I think one of your instructors there is Sandy Kolberg. If so, please tell him hello. He's a great pro to learn about international advertising from!

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb