While in Praha


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
April 26th 2006
Published: May 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

For the short time I am in Prague I do manage to still keep really busy. Last week I got into Prague late Wednesday night from Istanbul. I had to do wash, pack most my stuff to send home and pack up a weekend bag for the weekend (cinema dance) all by the next morning so that I could make it to half a class before I left Prague again. It was fun to keep going though is nice to have a few days in Prague now before I leave for Berlin. Last week was like a second spring break. And the one class that I went to part of was an out class so it consisted of walking out side in the sun in an outside part of Prague. The classes here are really easy, which has been great. I have no idea what I will do when I have to work when I get home.

So when I have been in Prague I have found some fun things to do… Such as African Dancing with my Czech mom which was crazy but so much fun. Also I managed to do double features at the movie theater for the price for one (we sneaked in even though the movies are only $5 here, so it would be like seeing a movie for a fourth of the price in the states). I saw “Me You and Everyone We Know,” which was great and “Match Point” which was all right. (later I saw V for Vendeta and Inside Man). I’m sure those movies came out a long time ago in the states, they come out so late here. I have also walked around and found new places and new restaurants while also frequently visiting my favorite places.

On the first night of Passover I went to a seder which was really nice. There were about 100 people, mostly students from many of the programs in Prague. It was really nice doing the seder, it reminded me of home and community. We even had a short service before which was nice and comforting. The only bad thing was the food. It is difficult to find things that are kosher for Passover in Prague, they had matzoh (which had to be shipped in) though no matzohball soup. I miss my grandmas cooking on Passover the food is always so good when she makes it. It was very different not being with family and having such a huge group. Though don’t get me wrong it was fun and a great experience. Pretty much everyone there spoke English, I found that interesting considering not many people in Prague speak English.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Me and my roomies acting crazyMe and my roomies acting crazy
Me and my roomies acting crazy

Emily bought these glasses and the most random stuff from the Prague flee maket, including an old gas mask


Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb