Random Blog: Is this Prague?


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
May 4th 2006
Published: May 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Spring is hereSpring is hereSpring is here

Look at this compared to the photo of the statue taken during winter
It is so beautiful outside; the trees are green and the flowers are in bloom. This is not Prague. Prague is cold and gray. I have to keep telling myself that I’m in Prague it's so different now with birds singing and being able to wear a shirt during the day. Everything looks so different. Right now I am on my balcony, this is the first time I’ve been able to just sit out here. It’s sad that now it is finally getting nice, I leave in a few weeks. Man do I appreciate this good weather, when I am in class and look outside and see a sunny sky all I want to do is be outside. Unfortunately now I have to do all my work. Some of my classes only have one test or one big paper and they are all due next week. On Wednesday and Thursday I have 3 finals and 3 papers due. Good thing I have started the papers/ started studying. Not. Well I started my Czech essay. Man will I be glad to be done with Czech and I will be glad to lie on the beach in Greece and party with Flor in
VyseradVyseradVyserad

By where I take classes
Spain, and I’ll be glad to go home and see all of you who I miss so much. Though I will miss you Prague; especially now that you are warm (I say as I look out over my balcony).

Before I left for Prague everyone would say how I am going to grow so much, I felt a lot of pressure to learn about the world. So I just took things as they came. I think I learned like people learn as life goes on though I learned from a different perspective, as though I got to hop into someone else’s life for a semester. My concept of time has changed again and I am sure it will change a lot more. For example what is a waste of time has changed. I am always concerned about being productive with my time, but now I question what being productive is. Before it used to be getting done with things on my to-do list and doing things as quick as possible. Now I have no Internet connection (I will be posting this later), no TV and no way to call people, I have a 25 minute walk to school and 30 minute walk home at least once a day. When I go out to eat the restaurants move slowly. I don’t have much control of time here. When I travel I spend so much time just getting to places but that has become part of the fun. I guess I have learned that getting done with things is not always time well spent. Right now I should be doing my final papers but am writing this :-). I know what I say is still very broad, though its hard to explain because every day I feel a little different and I know I will change when I get home too. Though for now I am just appreciating being here on my porch in Prague.

There are some more definable things that I have learned such as about Czech culture or even different cultures in Europe, of course I have become more independent. Also I am a pretty good cook, I think at least, I have been cooking a lot since there are no sandwiches I can get to go, except for ham sandwiches with cheese and lots of butter pre made from gas stations and small stores. Well they have one subway but I have been trying not to go there and so far have been successful, plus it’s far away.

Well now the sky is getting dark blue, I know its not even noon in cali but here its about time for me to try to start my homework (which normally is nothing but now that finals are finally are coming up I have to start cramming). Well across the way a women just turned off her light (I can see into all the apartments across from me (there are about 6 buildings I can see into) and there is a courtyard area below us). So back to here turning off the light I think that means its time for me to go. I hope you enjoyed my random blog.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



10th May 2006

Natural Beauty
Your photos are profoundly beautiful. (They feel a lot like Portland, OR!) We leave for our 1st visit to Prague next week, and now all I want to do is walk around focused on the natural setting! Any nearby towns we must see in the week to get more of this green beauty?

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0309s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb