Prague


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
April 9th 2006
Published: April 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone. I am finally in Prague. I have not been able to see too much of it yet because i have been pretty sick. Friday night we spent the night in the zurich airport. we flew out at 7 am that next morning. Trying to sleep on a cold marble floor, or a cold metal chair while you keep on switching from freezing cold to sweating cause of a fever is not fun. I dont think that I would have enjoyed it even if i was feeling well. Emily, who i am traveling with, is all about being super cheap. No, i do not like to spend a lot of money, but i like comfort. So maybe i am spoiled a little. My parents found a very nice hotel for us to stay in last night so that i could get some good rest. I slept most of the day yesterday and got about 11 hours of sleep last night. I feel a TON better now, not 100 percent, but much better. Thanks Dad and Mom.

Emily and I did walk around some last night. Prague is a beautiful beautiful city. All of the buildings seem like they are from a fairytale. It is gorgeous and i will try to put up pics soon. We are going to a communist museum today. Prague was communist until 1989. My cousin, Lee, told me is was interesting so we are gonna head there. Emily is big into art so we might hit up a few art museums. We are going to the castle tomorrow. It looks amazing. it sits at the top of prague.

Almost everyone here speaks English. Most of course speak english as a 2nd language, but they speak it very well. Some people are more friendly than others, but overall everyone has been nice. The rudest people I have run into are some Aussie guys. Grr. There are a ton of Australians and British people as well as Americans here. Although most people speak english it is pretty amusing and sometimes frustrating trying to find our way around when all of the streets are Plzavlc and zvclicvbnf and vbaimoraeil.

Ok, Emily and i are off to explore. I would love to hear from yall. I am a bit homesick i think since i am sick. I have free internet so i can check on here until tuesday morning.



Advertisement



9th April 2006

Hi
Amy, I was so worried when your Mom told me how sick you were. It is no fun being sick away from "home" (your room in Avila). You said you are better and I am praying you will feel 100 percent in a day or two. Lindsay came up on Fri. aft. for a short visit. We went to the Barn Door for dinner and for breakfast I baked some biscuits (frozen White Lily - Granpa used White Lily for his) and cut up cantelope. We watched "Yours, mine and Ours".. Sat. morn we just sat around and visited. I fixed a fabulous (even if I do say so) spinach salad for our lunch. I won't tell you the ingredients because it will make you hungry. Lee and Brett moved into their new apt. on Sat. It is in the theater and restaurant area not right downtown. Bill, Jr. said they could walk to find a place to eat. Take in all the sights in Prague. I love you and pray for you. Granma P.S. I watched "Walk the Line" Sat. aft. It was great!
10th April 2006

I miss you!!
Hi Miss Amy!! I sure do miss you...the room has been very lonely since you have left. I am so proud of all that you are doing. I'm not sure if you got my last message, but I thought you were very brave to take on those older students that had terrible behavior. I would have ran the other way!! Hopefully you are enjoying your family and feel better soon! Of course if you want to cut your trip short...your bed and desk are open!! Much love!! Miss Jaclyn

Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0681s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb