The Czech Language, my stupidity, and more Pictures


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
February 14th 2006
Published: February 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Czech language has been quite challenging. At first I thought I was doing pretty well but now I realize I really don’t know the language at all. And barley any people here speak English (since it was communist for so long they never taught English in schools).

Today I went on an adventure to try and find a place to fix my computer, which was very unsuccessful. I tried to use my Czech and was very unsuccessful in that too. By the metro stop I got off there was market were many Czech's go (better and cheaper than the tourist markets in old town). So after my unsuccessful search for a place to fix my computer I stopped at the market and bought some oranges and bananas with the little bit of money I had. When the man working at the fruit stand told me how much it was I knew I could figure out the number if he said it one more time so I tried to ask him “how much.” Well I was supposed to say “kolik to stoji” But I forgot to say the first part and just said “stoji.” Later I found out that with
Me and DanielleMe and DanielleMe and Danielle

Drinking peach vodka
out the kolik it is asking about a guys private part. (I defiantly did not know that at the time). When I said that he just told me it was fourty knowing that I didn’t know Czech. Man this language is so hard. I really should be studying for my Czech test tomorrow but its so frustrating that I really don’t want to. Fine time for homework.

But at least its either getting warmer or I am more used to the weather because I was hot today for my first time since I have been hear and I was wearing less layers and no beanie or gloves.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



19th February 2006

Liked looking at your blog
Hi Tamara, it was great reading the blog and I especially liked looking at the pictures. Looks cold. Love-mom

Tot: 0.24s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb