guimpy goes east (ish)


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
May 28th 2008
Published: May 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We're here! (Here being Prague!)

Friday (where I left off) - We collected ourselves and headed to the Hofbräuhaus for "beer and meat," to be eaten in that order. A liter of beer (yum yum!) and a massive pile of sausage, potatoes, schnitzel and bretzels later we were off to a piece of theatre entitled Brain F*ck. After a random tram ride and some jokes about experimental German theatre we wound up at this theatre in the middle of an industrial district, it had distinct echoes of a random "church converted into a theatre in the middle of nowhere" that Jessi and I wound up at two years ago. We wandered inside and found a comfy space which included couches, chairs, carpeting and bunk beds. Eternally hopeful, as we waited for the box office to open we were thrilled at the prospect of an environmental theatre show. The two women working there brought benches and a table outside and asked us if we wanted something to drink - something wasn't ringing right. Turns out it wasn't theatre at all, but rather a discussion (in German) about the current state of theatre in Germany. Oh... Neat... After a few laughs we headed back towards the tram unsure of where to head to next. It was 7:30pm and we were sort of in the middle of no where - it meant getting to see a "real" show by 8pm wasn't in the cards. One of the best moments from the evening? Anna may or may not have laid down on the cobblestone road while suffering from the "meat-sweats." We headed back to the hostel and found another piece of "theatre" starting at 8:30pm one block away from where we were only ten minutes ago. Trusting the efficiency of the German transit system Jono, Lana, and Jessi climbed back on the tram and headed back for another adventure. Anna and I had some quiet time with Tiger Balm in the hostel room with the "google machine" (thanks Jon - the name has stuck). A very short hour later the three returned with horror stories of a performance nightmare - some crazy show which included such antics as: a woman angrily reading poetry about vegetables, some "rocking out" saxaphone, and a guy in an anime character costume doing an interprative dance and yelling at the technician because the music was wrong. Oh, did I mention there was stew? In a crock pot? And that people brought their own bowls? They came home with stories of adventures and then disappeared to appease their frustration with apple strudel. They came back bearing gifts of Paprika chips (which are my new favourite thing out here) and plans to head downstairs to the Hostel bar and people watch. Anna fell asleep so we headed downstairs and well, people are ridiculous. No one downstairs (save ourselves) was okay, they were all stupid drunk - which just made the evening ridiculously entertaining. There's a brilliant series of pictures of me giving some guy who sat down beside me the "stink eye" before I finally asked him to leave me alone. Other moments of glory? The girl who fell off her stool at the bar while leaning over to make out with some guy? Or perhaps the dancing on the bar? It was all so wonderful it sort of melds together...

Saturday - We headed over to Kate's place for brunch - cooked by the lovely Jessi. I had almost forgotten how long it had been since I'd had eggs for breakfast - long enough for me to forget apparently. Also, did I mention there was real coffee? Because there was and it was glorious!! Anna and I braved the mobs of people to shop for a bit. Not bringing jeans was a mistake, because from the moment I arrived here - all I've wanted was my jeans. I caved and bought a pair, they make me ridiculously happy - not only because they fit, but BECAUSE THEY'RE JEANS!!! We then headed to the Volkstheater for dinner before the show - we were seeing Verbrennungen: Incendies: Scorched which is one of my thesis shows. Trust the Germans to take a four and a half hour French Canadian play and condense it down to two hours. It was still fascinating to watch, especially when you see what another culture choses to keep and choses to toss in favor of time. The set was made out of crushed tires and there were whole tires scattered around the space. I think by far I preferred the one I saw in Montreal, but this was still beautiful in its own way. Afterwards we headed back to the hostel and then Lana and Jono went to meet Jessi and Kate at a club. After the last club adventure, where all I really wanted to do was dance, tried to and then paid for it the next day, I decided it was best for me to stay put at the hostel. There was an awful cover band who played for only a half hour and then Anna and I hung out outside and chatted with a whole variety of people: ranging from the American soldier stationed just outside of Frankfurt on leave, to the French guy who couldn't stop talking about the woman having loud sex beside his room last night, to the polite guy from Stuttgart who was running around with a water gun. All in all, fascinating people.

Sunday - after a later start in the morning we headed to the train station to book our tickets to Prague. In hindsight it would have also been intelligent to book our return tickets from Prague to Berlin - but hey, hindsight is 20/20 right? We were then off to the Pinakotek der Moderne (one more time!). Entry on Sundays is only 1€ - it was worth it to go back and wander around a second time. We met Jessi for farewell drinks at a favourite café of ours, only to have the world's most disappointing nachos. Jono and Lana have since decided that they will come to Europe to open a nachos only restaurant and they will make millions. Dropping Jessi off was sad, we were all a little torn to see her go. She was in a ride-share car back to Hiedelberg, the catch? The driver over-booked by one - we all but cheered when Jessi climbed into the front seat alone and the other 4 people crammed themselves into the back. Sunday night was quiet - packing needed to be done and we had to be out "early" in the morning.

Monday - We're going to Prague! On the 12:44 train for a 2 hour train ride to a town none of us have heard of and then a four hour ride from there to Prague. The first train ride was wonderful - we had room and stretched out, we could chat and safely stow our things away; all good. The transfer wasn't a problem - from one platform to another about 10 ft away, all good. The 4 hour ride? Lets just say the best 16€ we spent was reserving our seats, the catch? I had to kick a couple out of their seats because they were reserved - I even did it in German and it didn't stop them from standing just outside the compartment and complaining about how "ungrateful" we were for a solid 45 minutes. My German's not that good, but I caught that part. The compartment this time was cramped and stuffy - I rode with my backpack standing at my feet and my legs draped over it for the whole time - comfort involved us shuffling around the best we could from time to time. Our hostel (the 2 bedroom apartment we're staying in) was less than a block away from the sketchiest train station I have ever seen. We checked in and then headed to a restaurant recommended by the landlord for dinner. If you think German food is heavy, let me introduce you to Czech food. I ate duck for the first time - it came in a boat and there were 200g of it. Now, I know that doesn't sound like much - but the lesson here is that 200g is too much food for a Nicky (even if I've been on a train all day). Despite the huge size it was amazing. On the beer front (seeing as how that is mostly what I talk about on here) I prefer German beer to Czech - it's good here, but not as good as there. 😊

Tuesday - After contemplating the schedule some of us had been on, we opted to set an alarm and see what happens. The result? We turned the alarm off and slept in until 10:30 - it was like heaven. Off on the march we ate lunch on the go, despite the lesson learned last night I for some reason thought 210g of Pad Thai would be a good idea - it wasn't. We headed across the river to the Praský hrad (Prague castle) where my camera decided it didn't need to work anymore. A few pictures in the royal gardens and it was toast - neat. After the castle we walked across the Charles Bridge and then roamed the streets without a map until we found ourselves some familiar land marks. I know now why people talk about this place being so beautiful - there aren't really words to describe it. We headed back to the hostel after a long day to find a place to eat, dinner this time was something lighter (roasted potatoes and spinach) so that I could indulge in dessert (some ice cream sundae covered in whip cream and banana liquor). The money here still throws me for a loop, I was finally growing accustomed to seeing things in euros and not trying to do the conversion in my head (which causes headaches and stress at the falling dollar and rising euro - I don't want to talk about it). It's just bizarre to pay for something with a 100 bill and to get a mittful of coins back - especially a 50 piece coin when there is also a 50 crown bill available. Whatever... I bought some coffee and milk at a little mart, which was totally a gamble because there wasn't anything in English. Speaking of that, the language barrier also throws me for a loop. I feel guilty speaking in English and asking for things in English, but there's nothing else to be done. It's bizarre to not know anything and be at a loss about history and customs, well history beyond what I've read in books...

Wednesday (today) - Since sleeping in was such a magical experience we decided to replicate it today. The downside? Not getting out the door until after noon. Also - I used the aerosol sunscreen today after burning my forehead and chest yesterday - it feels icky but works. Also, the milk was a victory the coffee was not. I may or may not have purchased regular coffee - but I stirred it well and drank it anyway. The result? No caffeine headache today for this addict. We returned to the first restaurant for lunch and then headed out to the astronomical clock - don't come here just for this, come for other things and "wander by" the clock when you get the chance. It's beautiful but nothing spectacular. We then headed off to the Museum of Communism, which I really enjoyed. A lot of Prague/Czech specific history I was not familiar with, it was well done and fun to wander through. I bought some cheesy "anti-propaganda" postcards that I will share on the return trip home. We then headed down to the river and road around on a paddle boat for an hour - Jono and Lana did the paddling, I took pictures. Dinner was a victory because it was "light" food - soup and pasta that didn't sink to the bottom of your gut and hang out there. I may or may not be gaining weight thanks to the heaviness of the food out here - so much for the "backpacker's diet." Well, tomorrow we're buying train tickets to Berlin and I'm off to the Kafka Museum on my own.

*hugs and love* to everyone back home - I miss you and wish I could share this with you more effectively...

Advertisement



30th May 2008

Google BOX! Insert here! Bo and I sit on patios and dream of Europe..... know that we miss all of you too!

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb