I'm all dressed up for Prague...


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
February 9th 2008
Published: February 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Where do I begin? Prague is beautiful! We arrived at about 11 p.m. The main station is the sketchiest place on this planet. There's all sorts of strange people hanging out. There were some that had a dog and they kept pulling it's tail. I felt like I was in some sort of twisted circus. Everything looked and felt distorted. It was weird. Rick Steve's warned us about pick pocketers in Prague so needless to say I was a little sketched out about that too. We had to take a metro to our hostel but after that the directions stopped. We stopped at two hotels to get directions and asked a random couple on the street. We were all tired and frustrated by the time we got there. Emily told the guy that worked there they had crappy directions but he was a jerk about it. O well. We got to our room and into bed and it's nothing but springs. Literally the most uncomfortable thing I've ever slept on. This morning I woke up because a spring was digging into my leg 😞 It still hurts. One of my favorite parts of Prague was the Charles Bridge. On it are all of these statues. Most of them relate to Jesus and other religious things. We saw the astronomical clock in Old Town Square and climbed the tower. From there you could see all of Prague. It's truly a gorgeous city. There's towers every which way you look. It looks like a fairy tale land, like something you'd see in Disney's Cinderella. Liza and I also climbed the Charles Bridge Towers. We saw the Lennon Wall. I wrote on it, nothing profound though. The wall really shows how much of an influence he was. A lot of the original graffiti is covered up though which I think is a shame because they were some of the better pieces. I guess everyone else thought they could do a better job or else just don't care anymore. The train's a little cold. Our new professor apparently gave us a lot of reading to do. At least I got all day tomorrow to do it. 😞 Anyway...We went to see "Aspects of Alice" at the Black Light Theatre. It was...interesting. Some parts of it were cool, but it was definitely different. I didn't see anything that had to do with Alice in Wonderland, which it was supposed to be derived from. There was a neat part near the end with a naked woman, marriage and a baby all done with this sheer white cloth and then god knows what happened. I don't know why the woman was naked though. It was weird. Other than that there was lots of flying and spinning and strobe lights. I thought I was going to have a seizure! Thank goodness for the shot of absinth before! Absinth is a strange liquor. It burns when it goes down and then your throat continues to burn for a bit after that which is weird. Liz and I ran across the Charles Bridge after the show. I thought I was gonna die my lungs hurt so bad. We went ot the Jewish Quarter and saw the old cemetary. I can't believe the number of tombs and how close together they are. It's crazy. Shows how much of a...I don't even know how to describe it's impact. Today we tried to go to Prague castle but there was a sign that said that said no one could go in. There was a large crowd of people and news vans. We wasked a
View from the Clock Tower IIView from the Clock Tower IIView from the Clock Tower II

Prague Castle is in the background!
guard what was going on and he said "They wanted a new president and they got one." The other guard just said that it's complicated. This got everyone's brain going. I personally didn't care. I was just upset because I wanted to go see the stinkin' palace. Anyway...What everyone thought was that there was a political coup and the old president had been assassinated and they were electing a new one. What actually happened was that they were having an election. Go figure. I called to ask Pop and he said that was probably the case. He's so smart! lol. I got to see the Kafka monument. It was cool. He was a strange man but an awesome writer. I really want salt and vinegar chips. If you love me send them! END.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

A Better PictureA Better Picture
A Better Picture

I forgot I had this but it's beautiful :)
Quartet Quartet
Quartet

These 4 men played on Charles Bridge every day. They were amazing! The first song they played was What A Wonderful World by Louis Armstrong
Franz Kafka MonumentFranz Kafka Monument
Franz Kafka Monument

Weird I know, but look who it's for.
Prague Palace is ClosedPrague Palace is Closed
Prague Palace is Closed

It's because the president was assassinated. ;)
Me in the Guard HideoutMe in the Guard Hideout
Me in the Guard Hideout

In front of Prague Castle
Pig Cookin' in Prague!Pig Cookin' in Prague!
Pig Cookin' in Prague!

Made me think of home and the beach :)


Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0291s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb