Gettin' lost and lovin' it


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
June 16th 2005
Published: June 16th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone-
Amy and I did a four hour tour today. Me feet are KILLING me. And I still have twelve days left! Prague is beautiful. We learned a lot about the history of the Czeck Republic and the city. They have only recently been apart of the EU so they have really been renovating and building things up. Almost everywhere we go there is construction being done, which is good, but bad for us because some of our views are not as great. I amy taking TONS of pictures and will hopefully be able to remember what most of them are of. Some of my favorite things to see over here are the many churches and clocks that all the cities have. The astrological clock here in Prague is really cool. I just recently figured out how to use the black and white feature on my camera so I should get some really awesome pictures of that.
We still haven't mastered any of the language here, but the closer we get to the center, or Old Town, the more we can get by on English. Yesterday it rained almost all day so we used that as our shopping day. I found some really cute tops that don't take up too much room and bought some much needed long sleeved shirts( I told you so Brooke!). Everything is pretty cheap here.
We moved from our little aparment room to a hostel that is in the Old Town, or Stare' Mestro. It seems pretty clean and quiet, but we haven't slept yet so we'll see.
Prague's streets in Stare Mestro are so much fun. They are all cobblestone and winding and easy to get lost in. Last night we managed to meander around for a while before heading back to the hotel. I overheard someone saying "haven't we allready been down this street" and it made me laugh and love the city all the more.
The Czech Republic is has the largest consumption of beer in all of Europe (the one thing I do remember😊 ), and their beer is really good. That's pretty much all I've been drinking, not all day of course! We had a dark beer last night that tasted like mocha coffee. Okay enough about the beer!
Tomorrow we are going to try and fit in three art museums, the national art gallery, which is near the Prague Castle that we visited today, the gallery of contemporay art, and my favortie the Mucha museum. The Charles Bridge has been a fun place to hang out and people watch. The bridge is long and wide and it is just for pedestrians. There are street vendors selling jewelry or portraits and statues of some of Czech's well known saints. The bridge has withstood many floods one of which was only in 2002, the water being the highest it has been in 500 years (all this useful info for ya'll back in the states, thanks to my tour guide today).
Okay well, we're off to dinner and beer! Check ya later...
-Courtney
- Karen- we have been using internet cafe's. They aren't too bad, usually round 20 Czeck Koronas whih is like 80 cents for 15 minutes.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



16th June 2005

Hi
Hey Courtney. I can't wait to see all the pictures. Are you doing any drawing? I'm sorry about the whole long sleeve shirt thing. OOps! Everything is good here. Murphy still sleeps in your room! So does the new puppy I just brought home! See ya! Brooke
16th June 2005

hey
Just kidding about the whole puppy thing! Have a great time. Brooke
16th June 2005

Slow down on the beer drinking
It sounds like you're having a great time. You'd better slow down on the beer drinking. I'm looking forward to seeing the pictures when you return. Love, Dad

Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0216s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb