Old men and English


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
June 14th 2005
Published: June 14th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Pani GottfriedPani GottfriedPani Gottfried

Here is the tour guide rattling something off in a heavy accented English that no one really cared about.
Oh! My feet!
I went on a walking tour of the castle today. Pretty much a waste of time. Mr. Gottfried our guide who must have been as old as dirt was bad. His accent was so thick even I couldn't understand him much of the time, let alone the two women for Jersey. The information he was giving was bland and un-interesting and he couldn't understand any of our questions. I was bored. I stayed with it only because it included admission to the inside of the castle which I hadn't seen before and Golden Lane which I wanted to see again. The last time I was at the castle entrance to Golden Lane was free. Ah, how far the Czech have come in capitalizing on the tourists which seem to have overrun the city. If the guide had been younger or had a better command of English or had some cool history tidbits to share about the castle it would have been better. There are a couple other tours that look really interesting. Different company, one recommended by Lonely Planet. The two I want to go on are the ghost walk at 8:30 pm or the Legends and Folklore walking tour. I haven't given up on tours altogther, they are a great way to see the city and learn about what you are seeing, but today sure left a sour taste in my mouth.

I met Bethany at the end of the tour and we walked to the funnicular and rode it up the hill. It isn't as fancy as the one in Budapest but it served the purpose. We then went to Petrin tower which is a "free interpretation" of the Eiffel tower. Emphasis on the free part. It has a heaping load of stairs to climb to the 60 metre high lookout tower. The view up there was great, if only the sky had been blue, the pictures would be fantastic. Being that high up it really swayed with the wind which totally freaked me out. When we got back down my stomach was still a little quesy. I had to stop and get some water and sit down. Okay, the legs still quivering had something to do with sitting down as well. We walked back down the hill into Mala Strana.

Once back over the Charles bridge we hunted for postcards so we could eat dinner and write them out. After finding a store that was actually still open at 6pm we went to Bohemia Bagel for bagel sandwiches and bottomless drinks (only time I've seen that in Europe!). Only thing is we got into a discussion about church and politics and never got around to the postcards - so don't be expecting any! 😊 It just felt great to sit down since I hadn't all day expect after the tower. Go! Go! GO! Too many things on my list to do during the day!

Advertisement



15th June 2005

Testing! Testing!
Are you now getting any of my comments that I have been sending?? Please advise!!! Love you! You know who - frustrated!
15th June 2005

Last day in Prague
Can hardly believe you will be leaving today for Brno. Hope you get to see everything you wanted in Prague-at least the highlights. How was the funnicular ride in Budapest and Prague? Someday I would love to go on one! So glad Bethany is with you. So much more fun getting lost together, however you know Prague fairly well. Found any art work yet? Don't worry about writing postcards unless you want the picture!! I think you are getting in your walking regime as well as your stair-stepping. Have a great day. Love to you both! "Spud"
15th June 2005

Spud alert!
I am so glad you are getting in all your walking and climbing. How are your feet holding up? Hope your trip to Brno goes well and you enjoy re-aquainting with old friends. Look for more info on stregerlady. Sending hugs for both of you! Spud
15th June 2005

You 60 meters in the air!!!
I can hardly beleive you went up that high and swayed in the breezes!! Freaked isn't the word for it. Were you on the floor or did you stay standing? Way to go girl!!! Spud
16th June 2005

Comments??
Trying one more time to see if my comments are coming through- lots of fun reading your journal- great idea!!

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0635s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb