New city - still cloudy


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
June 13th 2005
Published: June 13th 2005
Edit Blog Post

This morning just as I was getting out of the shower the phone rang in my hotel room. It was the front desk asking when I was wanting my taxi to come. The arrangement had been 8:30 and stated so. The front desk person said he would tell him to come back at that time. What? He forgot to pick me up at the airport and now he is an hour and a half early? Crazy man!

So I made it to the airport, had a pleasent flight to Prague, my luggage arrived with me this time. I went to check in with the čsa tour desk to get my vouchers for the hotel and all and decided to be a problem asking if Bethany could ride with me. Somehow this very nice man fixed it so that Bethany and I shared the taxi at no extra cost. I'm thinking I may see that cost show up somewhere down the line, but maybe not. The hotel I was arranged to stay it is, well, interesting, especially compared to the last hotel I was at that was very nice. It is very centrally located which is great. They were very accomodating as well and allowed us to change the reservation from just one to two for very little extra cost. Going to our room though I was reminded of the movie with Mel Gibson, "Conspiracy Theory" where Mel is held captive in an abandoned section of the hospital. We hung out in the room, I took a nap, she took a shower after just arriving from Iowa. When we went to leave our room the door was blockaded with white sheets. All of the hotel maid service was sorting sheets in the hallway outside our door. They seemed just as startled to have someone come out of the room as we were to see them.

Beth and I were both pretty hungry so we went to the Municipal House, Obecni Dum, for lunch. It is a beautiful building and just as gorgeous inside. We sat outside and were people watching. It wasn't until after an hour that I finally realized why there was a tour group coming by every ten minutes or less. The buildings I was looking out at were not that impressive, but I forgot the impressivness of the one i was sitting in front of. Silly me!

While the day started out beautiful, Budapest for the first time had clear skies, it is now overcast and sprinkling. We even heard thunder as we walked around. Apparently the stinky weather has followed me. An artist we were talking to on the Charles bridge told us the forcast was for rain tomorrow. Smůla!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb