Rolling through countryside by bus and train. Poland to Czech Republic


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
September 10th 2019
Published: September 11th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Today is a day of inter-country travel. From Krakow, Poland to Prague, Czech Republic. Starts with a 3 hour bus ride in a Business seat that has more leg room than a flight and a chance to put my feet up and enjoy the scenery. Even got a bit excited when my Business bag of goodies had something gluten free in it! Woohoo! A nice young polish guy was next me with a very twirly moustache. He kept to himself.

The countryside was green and as pretty as Poland has been all along. Familiar farming and villages with their Church spires. I snoozed a bit as well.

Bus toilets down the steps are a treat- I will say no more except that I survived!

Crossing over the Czech border brought a little change. Still green with forests but village housing slightly changed. The Church spires still presented themselves through the trees although the Czech spires all seemed white.

Europe does highways well with lots of forests marching alongside the dark bitumen carrying a variety of vehicles to their destinations. Same speed limit as home on this particular one. The autobahn in Germany would have had us there in half the time at 200 km speed limit.

Arriving at the station for a train connection gave an insight into the small Czech village Bohumín. A quaint bookshelf was built into the wall for travellers to help themselves or off load a book they no longer need. These are the little surprises that make me smile when travelling. In the broken world we live in today it’s a reminder that community still exists and being for the other is present.

The station was old and the platforms very long seemingly without the population to need it. But it did service a lot of outsiders like me heading elsewhere like Prague. As we glide along the tracks we pulled in at many stations picking up passengers and the train was soon full. Some people working on laptops, others reading or snoozing and many just staring out the window absorbing the beauty of this country.

Every so often we pass various industries and then slip back into greener pastures- some with cattle. Little clearings come along the way as well in this ever-changing landscape.

These train employees work their butts off and so pleasant.

The ‘LEO EXPRESS’ has served me well on both bus and train. Comfortable, clean and efficient.

Arriving in Prague the traffic is horrendous. So noisy and busy. Twenty minutes on I’m at my hotel which is waterfront and a great, central location to all that I will want to see or do in the time I have here.

My calves are telling me I went down over 400 steps at salt Mines in Krakow yesterday and sitting down for most of the day won’t help the stiffness.

Went for my usual wander being careful not to be run over in the chaos. Back at the hotel I do some research into gluten free eating and find some promising options for the next couple of days.

Looking forward to Prague!





Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement










Tot: 0.198s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1638s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb