Silesian-Ostrava Castle


Advertisement
Published: December 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today it was our plan to visit one of the most important tourist attractions in the city. It’s called the Silesian-Ostrava Castle. This castle was built in the 13th century, but was reconstructed several times due to coal mining that was going on under it. I had such a fun time visiting this place, we learned about the history and development of the city, the Thirty Years War, we got to see a fresh water aquarium that was on the site, go through a witch themed exhibition, and we got to see a torture chamber. It was amazing. Abby and I were so amazed and caught up in the attraction that time flew by. Before we knew it, the sun was going down.
One other thing that I can’t forget to mention was my bathroom situation. It was hilarious!! Today was the first time I used the bathroom outside of the hotel and I kind of walked into the men’s bathroom. Unlike the bathrooms in the United States, the bathroom signs have a circle and triangle. The circle is a symbol for women and the triangle represents men. So me, not knowing this, walked into a door with a triangle and when I walked in I was greeted by a couple guys, so immediately like walked really fast out the door. Abby and I laughed so hard, until we were practically crying!
Before we left to go back to the hotel, Abby and I decided to find a cheap place to eat. After eating dinner, we drove back to the hotel and just hung out there. We didn’t want to get exhausted again, so we just hung out in the room, watched t.v, and went to sleep. We learned a lot today and we’re ready to learn more, today was just the beginning.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.07s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb