Recap before craziness ensues...


Advertisement
Published: June 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Photo 6Photo 6Photo 6

Breaking my neck to take this one basically..
Hello all.. Sorry I've been pretty bad with updating lately. Very busy! The other day we had our big memorial service in which MANY MANY folks attended. Hopefully photos will be on the website soon, as I didn't have a chance to take any (ok, I forgot my camera across town, but I still didn't have time lol). Ceremony went well--rain held out for the majority of it. Met the US ambassador, among many others. It was kinda amusing--he was exactly as I pictured he would be..In a good way of course. Was very friendly for a diplomat in my opinion..asked where in the states I was from, etc etc. Anyways, that went well.
Unfortunatelyyy my friend who was going to visit me this past weekend when he was in Prague had major internet difficulties, thus we couldn't get a hold of each other to find a place to meet up, so that was basically a bummer.
Today was the opening of an exhibit on Jews in former Czechoslovakia. I'm not exactly sure what it was on beyond that as it was all in Czech, however it looks nice haha. I spent the majority of yesterday setting the entire thing up
I didn't take thisI didn't take thisI didn't take this

Actually, its not even in CZ. But its an internet photo of the choir we saw. They wore the same traditional Norweigan outfits too. It was cute. So was their accordion player (not pictured..hehe)
with the museum director..They have a lot more "openings" than I thought! The other day (night before the big memorial ceremony) we had an opening of another exhibit on Televag, Norway. The directors from the museum came down for the event, along with this huge choir from Sund. Afterwards the choir along with some Japanese school in Prague performed in a concert we had at the gallery. There was also a seminar on the Televag tragedy that evening. Freezing cold night, but very nicely done lol.
My train tickets finally came in the mail today! I leave Saturday morning for Dresden, Germany! Apparently there is some weird technicalities with the order/places you can travel so I need to figure that out so I don't have to swim across the English Channel, but yeah.. Germany is a definite! lol
Some photos posted are from this past Sunday..Got bored and thought I should go check out Vysehrad before I left. Basically, its a big castley complex in the middle of Prague. For being right off the metro and so gorgeous, you'd think it'd be packed with tourists, but it wasn't. Nice place to take a weekend morning walk regardless, plus the views
Real Estate, anyone?Real Estate, anyone?Real Estate, anyone?

I wonder how much this view cost? Yes, I took this off the side of the road from Some ones back yard. Jealous, much? lol
from the top of the city are great. (sidenote: so worth paying the $2 to get into the Church there.. ahhmazzingg!) My photos don't really do the place any justice. There was barely any lighting in there but the paintings and gold plated EVERYTHING made the building glow..
Well, I'm off to watch part two of "Apocolypsa" (the movie "Apocolypse Now"..in Czech) with my roomie, soo I'll write again soon...! =)


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Grand EntranceGrand Entrance
Grand Entrance

Basically, its made of a million tiny pieces of brightly colored glass/stone. Quite the impressive mosaic if you ask me..
Photo 7Photo 7
Photo 7

As far away as I could get with it potentially in the frame.. lol
Photo 9Photo 9
Photo 9

Not quite the original, however still impressively nice.
Photo 10Photo 10
Photo 10

Each of the sides of the pillars in the church were painted with a Saint's photo
Photo 12Photo 12
Photo 12

Grand alter, eh?
Photo 13Photo 13
Photo 13

Not a bad place to Sunday mass I'm guessing..
Photo 16Photo 16
Photo 16

the walls really WERE all painted..
~~
~

As good as self-photos was gonna get for the day.. haha
Why the American Revolution was necessary.Why the American Revolution was necessary.
Why the American Revolution was necessary.

Forgot to mention these guys.. uhhh
Prague City center, 2:30pm ishPrague City center, 2:30pm ish
Prague City center, 2:30pm ish

Bunch of British guys thought it was a marvelous idea to dress up in a variety of superhero (and super heroine apparently) costumes and drunkenly trapse around the city. Stupid, yes. Hilarious, of course.
The more the merrierThe more the merrier
The more the merrier

This one lady grabbed the two Spidermen from the group and posed. Apparently her grandson was a huge fan and only wanted Spideman things from her trip abroad haha
Oiy.Oiy.
Oiy.

And yes, I avoided at all means.. But it was QUITE the sight..


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 31; dbt: 0.03s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb