Gardens!


Advertisement
Published: June 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So I promised I'd post photos of the crazy huge rose gardens we have here.. I just went out and took a handful of photos, however was unfortuantely interrupted by a nice violent thunderstorm! Thus, there is not too too many at the moment, but I'll take more when the skies clear. This week is when its all in peak bloom I guess so It looks mighty nice. the photos don't even do justice to the size of this thing.. 29 thousand bushes, 213 varieties from 32 countries. HUGE! The gardens are set up in a basic format like three roses (if you look at it from an aerial view thats what you'll see..sortof). The center rose in the biggest--its dark red flowers and meant to represent the 192 men of Lidice that were murdered. The smaller multicolored rose on one side is to represent the children of the town that were murdered in concentration camps, put up for adoption, or never returned home. The photos from today are of this rose bed. On the other side of the garden you have another smaller (when I say smaller I mean a few thousand rose bushes by the way..) one thats light red and pink meant to represent the women/mothers of the town. The garden was originally called the "garden of friendship and peace" but was renamed many a times. Funding was originally done by the government, but with the major government overhaul here in the 90s they lost national support to keep it going. Through private supports and the Czech cultural ministry its been up and running again since about 2002. The grounds folks are out there every morning.. There has to be at least 7 of them every day working to keep it up. Quite the project! In the center of the garden you'll see a big statue/water fountain (photos will be coming..) and in front of that its like a semicircle with plaques of remembrance for towns that suffered similar tragedies in WWII like this one did. Something interesting to note: Hiroshima is the first plaque on the wall.
Anywhoo, I'll let ya'll look at the photos. Also some from yesterday meandering Prague included!


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Art is def their thing over hereArt is def their thing over here
Art is def their thing over here

Artist doing impromptu portrait on the bridge..it looked just like the girl too.. like JUST!
I may not be JewishI may not be Jewish
I may not be Jewish

but its famous. And pretty.. so I visited the Jewish Quarter lol..
National TheatreNational Theatre
National Theatre

Was told the inside was AMAZINGLY gorgeous. I'll take their word for it instead of paying $300 to find out for myself haha..
Charles Bridge and Prague Castle in bgCharles Bridge and Prague Castle in bg
Charles Bridge and Prague Castle in bg

Probably the most visited and photographed place of the whole city. Do you blame them?
King KarelKing Karel
King Karel

Charles, Charlie, Chuck. King-y. You get the idea. He's got a bridge and a statue. Important.
me in the gardenme in the garden
me in the garden

You know you miss this face...! =)
I'm getting better at this..I'm getting better at this..
I'm getting better at this..

ME..with Prague Castle in the background
When I gave in and asked for helpWhen I gave in and asked for help
When I gave in and asked for help

Thank you Canadians! =)
Even the puppets singEven the puppets sing
Even the puppets sing

Marionettes are wiked popular over here.. this one happened to be singing.. haha
CharlesCharles
Charles

The guy in the ugly yellow shirt totally ruined this for my camera.. grr. Will fix later lol
I prefer my Fossil..I prefer my Fossil..
I prefer my Fossil..

Well they call it the Astronomical Clock for a reason..
Little bit o' Old, Little bit o' novyLittle bit o' Old, Little bit o' novy
Little bit o' Old, Little bit o' novy

Horse and carraige.. followed by Skoda and Mercedes.. lol


Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 58; dbt: 0.1051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb