Mini bus adventure


Advertisement
Published: July 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

We woke early in hopes to catch a minibus tour through Kutna Hora which included the famous bone church. At first, the bus was full, then due to technical delays, some people dropped out and we were able to come along. About an hour out of the Prague we arrived at the Kostnice Ossuary. The area used to be a burial ground, then became a mass grave for plague victims which then expanded to casualties of war. Finally the area was downsized and a church was built on the grounds...So one of the priests decided to use the bones of plenty to decorate the inside of this tiny church. It truly was creepy to have all of the hollow eyes looking in your direction from every which way. The chandelier in the center contained every human bone and yes Mel we found the scull with a crow pecking out the hollow of its eye socket.

Next was a walking tour through the city of Kutna Hora, small place, a former silver mining city. We stopped at a tavern and ate some local grub, beef gaspatcho with dumplings, Amie had pork with dumplings. We both had local beer and dessert...so full at the end of this. We paid a discounted price for the tour due to the inital delays (minibus was low on oil and we had to wait for the owner to bring some down). Then the walking continued to a large chapel. Amie took a look at the organ and said "I think this is the most beautiful organ I've seen" It even beat out the clunker in the Vatican that we saw. While we waited for the minibus driver to pick us up again. Our tour guide informed us that there was a miscommunication with the discount and if we could pay the former agreed amount. We all had no problem with that, our bus driver had given our guide a hard time the whole trip, she had been on and off the phone and at one point needed some away time. And when our driver finally arrived, we headed back to Prague. This may have been the strangest tour with odd events either of us have encountered.

Back in town, we grabbed a couple of drinks with other guys on our tour group, relaxed and chatted. I finally had my Pilsner (the beer that originated in Prague) and oh it tasted good. Then off we went, through town, shopping, meandering and finally home.

Angele

Advertisement



27th July 2006

We are home again and I am catching up
Hi guys, we have been away for a few weeks so I had lots of reading to do!! Your stories are great, I particularly enjoyed your stories of Spain and Paris as they brought back so many memories. You must have been near where we were for the Running of the Bulls and of course you would have had warmer clothing than we had. I am glad to hear that things are going well and, sorry about the bedbugs but we all know you will have your ups and downs and I think that is a better thing to have as a "downs" then other things. Since there are not comments for this section yet I think I might have beat Cathy to the draw. Now that would be something! Keep up the stories, talk to you later, Wendy
27th July 2006

Shopping???
All I want to know is if shopping consists of looking or looking with a lot of buying. It makes me happy to think it is the latter (looking and buying). BUY, BUY, BUY.... you never know when you will be able to go back there again. Of course, at the rate Amie is going that will be next summer :) Cheers, Cathy P.S It is much cheaper to buy stuff now while you are there then buying it on Ebay now. I should know, I am hooked on Ebay.
28th July 2006

HUZZAH!
the bone church!!! tell me you got a pic of the crow pecking the eye!! THE EYE!!! Oooo there better be lots of pics!! hehehe ... I was waiting for that part of the trip!! I'll be sure to tell Jindra you made it!! luv ya both!
28th July 2006

That was truly the creepiest thing I've heard of you guys doing!! I'm such a chicken, so better you then me. Is that where Halloween originated from, cause it sounds a little dark, drap and just creepy!

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb