One day crash sightseeing


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
July 26th 2006
Published: August 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

There was much harassment of people trying to sell us concert tickets. Mainly for Mozart but all classical stuff. Not just the same old 'hey take a flyer'They really don't take no for an answer. And they also swarm intersections, 3 or 4 of them. One will always get you. We walked through the large cathedral in old town. And from my memories of 10yrs ago, the scaffolding hadn't moved much on the outside. After a brief walk through, we went to the Sissi museum. She is described as the "lady Di of Austria". There was an amazing display of royal tableware, some palace rooms, and the highlight, Sissi's story with all the myths and legends about her. She was married young and went from a carefree life to one of prestige and seclusion. She became so withdrawn and obsessive of her looks (to the point of wearing a leather face mask lined with thin cuts of veal to sleep). Sadly she was assasinated in her later years.

Advertisement



3rd August 2006

long time no hear!!!
Hey guys, This might be a dumb question but WHERE ARE YOU?? Since every knows about my knowledge (or lack there of) of the history in Europe, I have no idea where you guys are. Cheers, Cathy P.S I think I need a life. Every time I see that I have mail I get all excited that it might be from you guys, sadly, this week today was the first time it actually was. :) NO cheap internet or just been to busy drinking?
4th August 2006

Cathy...I agree!! :P
I have to agree with Cathy...I was wondering where you guys were. I always got excited hoping you guys had updated...I miss hearin your stories...hope you're havin fun!! Love ya both! Take care Melanie (and Jessie, lol)

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb