Night in Zadar


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia
September 25th 2023
Published: October 4th 2023
Edit Blog Post

I got up early morning for my bus into Zadar. The taxi came as prearranged, and helped me with my bag. Once I arrived in Zadar, the hostel was a 10 min walk away, and as I had purchased a roller bag to replace my suitcase, I was ok getting there on my own.
It was about 8:30, so reception wasn't open yet. I just left my bag in the common room and then headed out for my follow up appointment at the hospital. It took awhile to figure out where I had to go to my appointment (I was misdirected to the incorrect floor), but eventually found the right spot. I was sent for x-rays, and then back to wait. Eventually the doctor saw me and said things looked fine, reminded me to avoid lifting for a few weeks and to practice taking deep breaths. I paid my bill, and headed back to the hostel to check in.

It was about mid-day, and my room wasn't ready yet. I decided I'd take a ferry over to one of the nearby islands. The ferry was just a few euro, and took about 20 min. I would have liked to walk
apartment in Virapartment in Virapartment in Vir

My litte recuperation apartment, where I spent almost 2 weeks.
around more to explore the island, but by then, my recuperating body had already gotten more walking than it probably should have, between going to the hospital and getting to the ferry dock. So I just walked a little bit along the water's edge, and then sat down and read for a while.

When I got back to the hostel, I got settled into my room, and then went to the common area. The hostel owner Chris was there, so we talked for awhile. Then a few hostel volunteers were going to the sea for a swim. I didn't want to get in the water, but I decided I'd join to go sit by the sea for the sunset. When we returned to the hostel, I had the reception call for a pizza for me, and then sat down to visit with some other hostel guests. There was a really nice couple from Toronto that I chatted with for awhile- they were pretty young, so were most of the other hostel guests. I went up to bed around 10, but most of the group was planning to head out.

In the morning, I walked down to the sea
my street in Virmy street in Virmy street in Vir

My apartment was just a minute or 2 to walk to the water
for awhile, and then back to the hostel to get packed up. I headed back to the bus station for my noon bus to Trogir. While I was waiting, I ordered an ice coffee. He brought out coffee in a coffee cup. I questioned it, thinking he had confused my order. He said it was cold, but there was no ice in it, which I pointed out, so he went, grabbed a handful of ice cubes, and dropped them in the coffee cup- funny! The bus ended up being about 20 min late, and then I headed off to Trogir for my last night in Croatia.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0317s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb