Komiža-magnificent little town reachable with open sails


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Dalmatia
December 10th 2013
Published: December 10th 2013
Edit Blog Post

The most beautiful destination I had visited so far with my sailboat was a small town of Komiža on the island of Vis in Croatia. I had spent my last 6 summer vacations sailing around Adriatic, and the town of Komiža had absolutely left me speechless, with many unforgettable memories.

Komiža is a small coastal town situated on the western coast on the island of Vis, which is the most distant large island in the Central Dalmatian coast, in the central part of the Adriatic Sea.

Komiža is a picturesque and distinctly rural fishing town with many hidden coves, bays and natural islands in its proximity to explore. The most interesting and the most astonishing, to me, was the blue cave of Bisevo. The best time for entering the blue cave is from 11 am to 12 am because if you find yourself at the entrance at that time, then you can see an unreal light inside the cave. It was a magical and rare example of unspoiled nature. After the blue cave, I had also spent some time sailing around Komižas beautiful and peaceful beaches Kamenice and Gusarica.

Unfortunately, there are no moorings available in Komiža. So I had decided that it is best not to anchor there. I was also given an advice from one old local fisher man, who had told me to tie up at the breakwater, because it is fitted with mooring lines and that would make it easier for me to secure my sailboat.

When you stop and take a look at Komiža, one could say that the whole town is one small historical museum. There is a monastery of St. Nicholas, and the oldest part of the monastery is a Romanesque church with a semi-circular apse. Popular sights also include a small renaissance church Gusarica, and a Fisherman museum located in the old Venetian tower on the promenade. Because it is a small town, everything in it looks unique.

I had enjoyed my time spent in Komiža , especially because the whole time I was there I had felt like I was in some kind of a movie from 17th century. Like the time had stooped around me, and there wasn’t anything else there, besides me, an old town of Komiža and the open blue sea.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb