Paradise in Dubrovnik


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Dalmatia » Dubrovnik
September 2nd 2011
Published: January 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Ok, so it’s on to Dubrovnik in Croatia, and I can’t wait!

Hitting the old town on the first night for Dave’s birthday, it was definitely a challenging backing it up after last night in Albania but I just had to suck it up and put my party shoes back on. The city is an amazing sight to behold, entirely enclosed in fortress walls standing 15 to 20m high, you actually cross a draw bridge to get in. And that it still functions as a city is really cool. The first club we hit was basically all Contiki unfortunately, but I did get to have a drink called a ‘sex bucket’ :-), so that was kinda cool. The second club, however, was sensational!! Awesome layout, cranking music, dancing cages, and a strange hole that simply went into oblivion (weird); it was definitely one of the coolest clubs I’ve ever been in, I wish I could remember the name of it though. So Tom and I met these two amazing girls from New York, Elizabeth and Katie. It would have been really nice to keep in touch but unfortunately I couldn’t find them on Facebook :-(. Fake names? Maybe. But I wouldn’t have thought so, cos we all had such a fun night. So girls if you happen to be reading this, thanks so much for a great night, you will always be remembered :-). Katie, you’re my genuine upper-east side Manhattan, sex & the city girl ha ha ha :-).

We had a walking tour the next day, which was awesome, the city is so beautiful and full of history, and it’s just a nice ‘old town’ to wander around in. I didn’t get the chance to do the wall walk but I heard it was incredible. <span> But this day was really all about the cruise.

On the boat, let’s go. The vibe was intense, absolutely crystal blue water, beers a plenty (well nearly, we drank the boat out of beer, but they were kind enough to re-stock at the next port ha ha ha), it was just a great day on the water. Dropping anchor to dive in and have a swim, and the water was warm and clear, so much fun jumping from the side of the boat. I can’t just keep going on about how awesome it was, but it just was :-). Oh and yeah, Tom and I threw Alex in the water ;-). It had to be done.

Dubrovnik really is one of my favourite places and I will definitely be making plans to go back and do Croatian Sailing with one of the various companies that do it, maybe Fanatics of something.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb