Arrival into Vis with American girls


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Dalmatia » Brac
June 4th 2005
Published: September 5th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I wake up fairly late after ignoring the conversation earlier. The Aussi girls take off without saying bye and I’m the last one to gather up my things and check out. I head to the fruit market for another terrific chicken sandwich and watermelon. Then I buy a ticket to Vis (recommended by the cleaning lady at the hostel). Then I get a haircut by a really friendly local guy who keeps comparing me to his son and is really friendly. He gave me a really big genuine smile when I gave him a 10 Kuna tip.

Then I hit the internet café to load up my Ipod and grab my things out of the hostel. I make the short walk to the ferry where I meet a couple of Canadian study abroad students on a weekend trip from Belgium. Their names are Keely and Kristy and they intend on camping in Vis. We make the 2-3 hour trip to the island and are flooded by apartment offers upon our arrival. I find one only 100m away in Vis town that has cable TV and a great terrace for less than 20 Euros. I take it and the girls end up giving up on their camping idea and take the place right under me. I rent a mountain bike and take a quick tour of Kut which has some nice restaurants. Later on me and the girls go to a nice pizza restaurant and I am completely bored by Keely’s “American” way of droning on about the most boring things. It is extremely frustrating and unattractive. We end up heading back to Kut to try and catch up with a “Dentist Party” THAT WE HEARD ABOUT. It ends up being just a bunch of very old couples so we have a drink at an interesting club called Lambik. At this point I’m pretty drunk and ask if we could head home. We promise to meet up the following morning for breakfast.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb