Cevapi! (Day 89)


Advertisement
Bosnia and Herzegovina's flag
Europe » Bosnia & Herzegovina » East » Sarajevo
August 7th 2010
Published: August 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

enoughenoughenough

enough!
Started off the day with a leisurely stroll around the Turkish quarter once again before heading a little east into Novo Sarajevo (New Sarajevo) for a look around. Had to see my new passion, Eastern Bloc architecture. Also, had to pick up a few things for the rest of my trip (headphones & batteries) and it had a few electronic stores with cheap goods so that was nice. Had some more burek for lunch. Got a combination of spinach, potato and meat. They asked if I wanted yogurt with it and I figured they meant it as a sauce so I said yes. Then they bring out a full glass of yogurt and I was just perplexed. Wasn't sure if I was meant to drink it or pour it clumsily out of the glass onto my burek so I did both. Either way I was half way wrong and half way doing it like the locals so I'll take that.

Headed back to the hostel for a little break before taking a hike away from the main city and into the surrounding hills. The city of Sarajevo is nestled tightly between the surrounding hills and it only takes a 20
peacepeacepeace

forging peace
minute walk or so to feel like you have completely left the city and its suburbs. Soon it was little fields and thatched roof shacks full of firewood. The views out over the city were amazing. In fact, the view from the top of the hostel where I am writing this blog has some pretty incredible views out over the city. It's cool to see how the city suburbs creep up every hill that surrounds the city. Looks like a big bowl of Sarajevo hah.

My first meal in Bosnia & Herzegovina was Cevapi and I made it my last one tonight as well. Went over to the local supermarket to pick up some goods for my trip back to Italy via Split tomorrow. I will be eating bananas, cookies and tea biscuits for the next 24 hours ha. Should be a long day but after it will be a few days of relaxation on the Amalfi Coast and then on to Turkey!







Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

graves1graves1
graves1

old ottoman graves in a park
hikehike
hike

old and new
franzfranz
franz

where WWI started
kegkeg
keg

cooking corn in an old keg


Tot: 0.211s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 43; dbt: 0.1692s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb