Trip to London!


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Flemish Brabant » Leuven
October 30th 2008
Published: November 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

+
J.M.J.T.



Dear family and friends,

London and Paris were both fantastic! Indeed, I feel like I am settling into such a nice routine, balancing leisure with schoolwork with friends and family. I am sorry it has taken me so long, but here are some pictures from London along with some miscellaneous pictures I have not posted before. Paris is forthcoming!





Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

London EyeLondon Eye
London Eye

The view from the London Eye of Big Ben, Parliament, and the towers of Westminster Abbey
London sceneLondon scene
London scene

A typical London scene (as Laura would say, is that lady in all typical London scenes or just this one?)
In the British museumIn the British museum
In the British museum

The Rosetta Stone up-close
The London Eye from the outsideThe London Eye from the outside
The London Eye from the outside

A shot from one of the bridges across the Thames
Living statuesLiving statues
Living statues

A living statue on the walkway near the London Eye
Near the London EyeNear the London Eye
Near the London Eye

A park near the river
UndergroundUnderground
Underground

A sign for the Underground. I also found out that in British English, a "subway" means an underground walkway.
The 39 StepsThe 39 Steps
The 39 Steps

The London marquee.
Another living statueAnother living statue
Another living statue

With no head!
MusicalsMusicals
Musicals

A pretty picture looking down an avenue with a lot of the musicals playing on it
My friend AstridMy friend Astrid
My friend Astrid

Astrid in the British Museum
Greek parenthenonGreek parenthenon
Greek parenthenon

A Greek structure in the Museum
Types of columns!Types of columns!
Types of columns!

Laura, this made me think of when you learned about the types of columns--ionic, doric, and corinthian!
Baby BelugaBaby Beluga
Baby Beluga

The sea creatures room at the Museum of Natural History
PrettinessPrettiness
Prettiness

The lovely gemstone room at the Museum
the Korean Housethe Korean House
the Korean House

In the Korea room at the British Museum, there was an almost-life-size model of a traditional Korean house. I thought of Kiwoong from the Bizarre Bunch! :)
Pretty buildingPretty building
Pretty building

I think this is the outside of the Museum of Natural History
Outside of Hemley'sOutside of Hemley's
Outside of Hemley's

Hemley's is a large wonderful toy store and here is me with a character outside of it.
Movie premiereMovie premiere
Movie premiere

When Astrid and I were walking around Leicester Square, we noticed that the Quantum of Solace movie premiere was getting set up! We didn't see the premiere itself but I saw Lizo from the kids' BBC show CBBC Newsround...I wasn't fast enough to get a picture of him though.
Famous people?Famous people?
Famous people?

Saw these two guys in tuxes before the premiere with people taking pictures of them--in my ignorance I don't know if they are famous or well-known or what. Perhaps one of my readers recognizes them?
Meryl Streep's handprintsMeryl Streep's handprints
Meryl Streep's handprints

Yeah, the image title kinda says it all.


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb