Pickpockets beware


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Brussels-Capital Region » Brussels
June 13th 2012
Published: June 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So last weekend I had my first practice with the entire national team, I was able to meet the coach and the rest of the guys. Practice was good, I saved a few and let a few in, normal lax fun. I have a feeling I can bring a lot to the team once the tournament starts.. If the goalie decideds to ask for my help I will give it, but until then I will use my tournament volunteer position to watch every game I can to write up a detailed scouting report from each team. Now thanks to my old alma matter STAB (st Anne's belfield) I know how to write up a very very detailed scouting report. Who their best players are, left or right handed, defensive looks, offensive plays, man down situations. Basically I gonna go patriots all over them, but without the video cameras or the cheating stuff. Anything i can do to get these guys more prepared to win. Lacrosse is still very very young in Europe, it's only been in Belgium for 2 years, but it's growing fast and they are getting better every time they step on the field. Anyway on to the pickpocket...

So after practice me and a few of the guys drove into Brussels to well get inebriated. After a quick fritte snack we headed to our first destination an Irish pub with 1€ beers till midnight... We got there at around 11:40, now I wasn't too sure of how we were going to take advantage of this awesome promotion with only 20 min and not vomiting, bc back in the states there is usually a 2 beer limit per person per transaction. I was wrong here... I saw people with crates under their tables, and soon enough the 3 of us were carrying 15 beers to the table, only to go back at 1159 to replenish what we had consumed. After listening to some terrible American "pub" music I decided to steal an empty glass from a table and introduce the guys and gal to quarters.. Or in this instance euros... Thanks to my mothers down in Fred I had gotten very very good at this so of coarse I looked like a champion. I even had some students from the states come up and ask if we were playing quarters, which my friends thought was funny bc the first group of girls I was talking to weren't Belgian... Tisk tisk

After finishing what was on table the guys decided to take me to the original Delirium Bar which was in what was called delirium village. Now when someone says delirium I think of the beer with the pink elephant on it, which is correct, except for the fact that this bar had hundreds of delirium beers, the book was a thick as my chem book back in school... Or a stack of $2K in 20's.. (oakton reference)! So after a few more beers our now bigger group wandered out into the village(alley), after a tour of the village I found that each bar had a specialty drink, there was one bar for each, vodka, tequila, whiskey, and to my surprise absinth...,! At this point I was very very excited and before going into the absinth bar I had to go find a dark corner to well pee...
It wasn't till the 3rd pee venture did I notice a group of 7-8 kids hangin around, now as most of you know I'm very outgoing and decide to say hi to basically everyone I saw. One kid (my age) jumped off his bike to come give me a high 5 , and a high 5 I gave him. I didn't think anything of it when he tried to show me how they said high back home by wrapping one leg around the other and hopping in a circle. Now drunk as I was I'm still no idiot, so i had one hand on my wallet the entire time, but as he was pulling away I noticed my right pocket that had my phone felt lighter. This sobered me up real fast and I reached out and grabbed the guys hand that had my phone, with out looking he tried to pull his hand free, but there was no way I was letting go, I had a gator like grip on it. He looked over at his friends then at me and said something, and without thinking I cracked him in the face and pulled my phone free at the same time. At this point all his friend were standing and headed my way. I began backing out of the alley quickly as they were closing in, I yelled out don't f with me and pulled out the large knife I had in my other pocket, at this point I was about 20 feet from a public corner and my friends. The knife stopped a few of them and caused all of them to start cursing at me, what the others did I don't know bc as soon as I backed out of the alley I briskly walked back to the bars. After that I decided to stay in the public sectors till our night ended around 6am.... Lesson learned, but also I'm glad I had my knife on me, ps this is the 4 inch knife that I somehow managed to get through TSA in the states by accident, but alas tale for another time. It's 2-2 and Denmark just scored on portugal.... Gotta focus.... Also I'm heading to Amsterdam this Sunday for a few days before the lax tournament to take in the sights

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb