Antwerp, Belgium


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Antwerp Province » Antwerp
July 13th 2009
Published: July 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Antwerp, Belgium July 8-10

I caught an early evening train to Antwerp from Lille and arrived to my host’s apartment around 8pm. I got a bit lost on the way, but that tends to happen quite often in new cities. Riet was immediately very welcoming and easy to talk to. I could tell we’d get along great. After dropping off my load at her place, we walked a short distance into the center of town and went to a bar where there was a good local rock group playing. We’d arrived a bit late, and it was completely packed to the door with people. We squeezed our way in and grabbed a couple of drinks. I of course got my first Belgian Trappist Ale on tap!! I got Orval, which was served in traditional Belgian fashion, in it’s own special Orval glass. It was a beautiful beer. Smooth and rich, yet refreshing at the same time. Riet and I ducked outside to sit on the patio and talk for awhile. We had some great conversation about our travel experiences and then about Antwerp and her home town (a small village nearby the city). After the show, we met up with a small group of couchsurfers and walked over to another pub around the corner. We shared some laughs and more delicious Beer, including Rochefort, De Koninck (Local), Chimay, Westmalle, and a Kriek (Black cherry beer). All incredible beers that pack a mean punch (min 7% alc). Needless to say I’d had my share of beer that night. Surprisingly, besides a wicked case of dry mouth, I had no hangover. Perhaps the lack of chemicals in the beer? At any rate, it put me in good form to go on enjoying Belgian ales for the remainder of my time in the country. Day 2 in Antwerp - Riet and I spent all afternoon walking around town. We really enjoyed ourselves and I got to see a lot of the city…including the most fascinating area, the Orthodox Jewish community. They were easy to spot with their black and white garments, black hats, and long, thick, evenly cut curls hanging to either side of the boys faces. They dominated this community, perhaps up to 90% concentration in the center. We saw loads of kids, baby carriages, and couples walking around. We also ran into a Jack Russel Terrier in a shop window which we appropriately named the Xanex Terrier, for his cool and unwavering demeanor. That night there was a couchsurfing meetup at a club with outdoor seating and a nice dance floor with DJ indoors. The drinks were a bit pricey, but the atmosphere was great, and I met a lot of cool people. Riet, Jente, and I all partied and danced till about 3 then made way back home for some z’s.

Advertisement



28th July 2009

the xanax terrier
Cool and unwavering: very accurate description, Scott!! :) I should go back just to check if he is still there...the xanax terrier! I think he is gonna die in that window!

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb