Beautifully Belgian


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Antwerp Province » Antwerp
May 5th 2007
Published: May 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So for the past several days I have been living with Tom and Sabrina and they have been showing me their city Antwerp. Not only the city but its people as well. They have been the most gracious and friendly of hosts. As they were showing me around to all the sites such as their cathedrale, the village fountain (and the story that goes along with it), the cities biggest shopping street, the best chocolate store in Beligium, an open air market, their new and old court rooms the new one is completely bizzare by the way), national art museam, and so much much more, I came to see that they are extremely proud of both their city and their country. It made me feel good to witness their enthusiasm. I have found out that Belgium is famous for tons of things: beer (more than 300 different kinds are brewed here), fries (why we say 'french fries' i have no idea because Belgians are the best with fries), chocolate, waffels, diamonds, and also it is famous for its lights (it can be seen from space!). Tom taught me all about the Belgian government system and it is actually a really good system. It is very comparable to America's but no one has a veto power (this is especially appealing at this moment in our government). For a very brief time we (myself, Tom, and his friend Erik) even passed the red light district. Very strange let me tell you. I have learned about how the Belgian school system works (which apparently is one of the best in the world) and it is completely different than ours is. They also showed me a park that has had all of its trees cut down to make room for a rinky dink airport that is not even needed!! They were active in protesting the act and spend a month and a half sleeping in the park both on the ground and even in the trees!!! Yet again the passion they displayed for their surroundings really impressed me. They love where they live. It is a very sombre sight now, trees cut down to a third of their typical size and it is obvious to see that the place had once been beautiful. Tom showed me clips of the national tv coverage that the action got and Tom actually had a decent bit of airtime. He is really a quazi-celebrity because he is on the ballot for the next election for the equivelent of our house of representatives. very cool! Tom and Sabrina are just very passionate people. Not only for their surrounding but for each other as well, another thing that makes me feel good about life...to see two people in love.
Not only have they shown me the city but also have introduced me to lots of their friends, I ate dinner with Tom's family one night, drank at a bar with a group of their closest friends later on that night, and then had a typcial Belgian dinner with them and one of their friends as well. It is such a surreal experience to be eating in a house in another country! So strangly exciting.
Both Tom and Sabrina are truly great people and it has been so great to stay with them. In fact there have been times that I have forgotten I am in another country for a short time because they make it feel so warm and receptive. For all of the sites I have seen in any other city or country this may be even cooler because I have gotten a good feel for what it is like to live in Belgium.
I am off to Amsterdam on Monday. I will try to keep everyone posted!

Advertisement



7th May 2007

It's weird to be with us two again
to Jared, It will not surprise you, but we miss you already. It was a very nice week for us both, with you at our place. We hope that we could come over to Ohio very soon to meet you again, and off course also your parents and friends. Don't forget to keep exercising on the pronunciation of our Belgian "r". We hope you've liked but actually I’m very sure of it. See, write and hear you soon. To his friends, Jared has just left to Amsterdam, he will surely post other comments as soon as possible.

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0238s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb