Antwerp and Ghent


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Antwerp Province » Antwerp
September 6th 2019
Published: September 6th 2019
Edit Blog Post

I left the Netherlands today and took the train into Belgium. My first stop was Antwerp and the first sight I saw was the central train station. It is truly magnificent. They have kept the grandeur of the old-style station while injecting modern improvements underneath the cast-iron arches. Antwerp is famous for being the home of Peter Paul Rubens and I visited his house and studio. I have never been a particular fan of his work, but I came away with a better appreciation of him after this visit. The other city I visited today is Ghent. It’s chief claim to fame is the Ghent Altarpiece in Saint Bavo Cathedral. This was painted by Jan van Eyck in the 1400s and is famous in art appreciation circles, apparently. I have to say that it is very impressive, but they wouldn’t let us take any photos of it, so I copied one from the Internet. Tomorrow I plan to explore more of Belgium.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0263s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb