A rainy start


Advertisement
Belarus' flag
Europe » Belarus
July 26th 2007
Published: October 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The feastThe feastThe feast

Finally, some warm food. Hmmm...borschtsch!
I wake up around 9 and the rain has finally stopped - no excuse to stay in bed any longer! Time to get up, make some coffee - and it starts raining again, fortunately before we start taking down the tent. So: back inside, play a round of cards, then another and another and another...

As predicted by Hans' rule of thumb, the weather changes at 11 and we can take down the tent and get on the way. But the legs are tired (mine at least), the first 30kms a real torture. Around noon, we find a small shop and manage to get some bread, cheese and sausage - and Борщ, the Russian beetroot-stew, in a glass jar. At the next opportunity, we take a break at one of these great wooden huts by the side of the road and cook up a storm.

Whilst taking a break, I take the opportunity to fix my eternal flat rear tyre. The new inner tube has had its valve ripped out by my crappy rear rim, so I have to go back to the mended inner tube I started the trip with, which seems to hold air ok. But, the operation leaves me with only one spare inner tube, and that one doesn't fit the rear wheel, only the front. Hopefully, I won't need it...

With new strength we continue along the way, and my legs feel a lot better already. The wind in our back, even the sun is out from time to time - perfect! Soon, we see the first sign for Лепел - our destination! Just one more night in the woods, and we'll be at the camp!

And even though I am physically exhausted, I want more. More bike tours like this, where I travel from town to town, not fixed to an itinerary, not knowing where I will spend the next night. Where I can get to know a country very intimately, from a side usually not seen by tourists. Maybe, first explore some of Scotland, while I'm still there. And then? New countries. Italy? France maybe? Germany? Austria? The US? My head is full of ideas, places I would like to get to know by bike, full of enthusiasm. Hopefully, I can make some of these ideas become reality.

For now, I'll stick to dreaming my dreams. Good night!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

The way ahead...The way ahead...
The way ahead...

...straight and flat...a bit of a drag, actually!
Going EastGoing East
Going East

How can you tell? Hint: it's evening.
Enjoying the evening sun...Enjoying the evening sun...
Enjoying the evening sun...

...by the side of the road.
The last nightThe last night
The last night

in the wild. I love the camping in Belarus - great spots abound!


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0278s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb