Day 11 - Vienna


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria
August 9th 2015
Published: August 11th 2015
Edit Blog Post

I decided to head out on my own and complete a walking tour of Vienna taking in some of the sights around the Old Town. http://www.bigboytravel.com/europe/austria/vienna/freewalkingtour/



Again the weather was overwhelmingly hot (why do we have so much time off at the hottest time of the year – I would love nothing better than to be cooped up in an air-conditioned classroom). It was amazing walking around and seeing the city though. I went to the Schmettering Haus (Butterfly House). It was incredibly hot inside, turns out going inside a greenhouse is not the best idea during a heat wave. But it was amazing to see the butterflies in their chrysalis breaking free and flying around the enclosure. Not as good as the one in Cairns though. Walking around seeing things like the Roman Ruins and the Monument to the Plague Victims reminded me of the tour last year. After my day of exploring I headed to the Sacher Café and tried their world renown chocolate torte cake. It was nice but I have had better. It had apricot jam in the middle too which I wasn’t really a fan of. I also had a delicious Bratwurst sandwich for dinner before heading back to my hostel.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0321s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb