High on a hill was a lonely goatherd, Yodle lay Yodle lay Yodle lay hee hoo.


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria
January 22nd 2009
Published: January 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Due to my rule about only writing one blog per country (Costa Rica is an exception because I was living there), I cannot discuss, or show any photos, of New Year in Serbia.

New Year in Belgrade was a very last minute decision, I think I bought the ticket on the 29th, actually to Zagreb, and then I took a bus. After New Year I had a bit of trouble when I went to buy a ticket home. I didn’t realise that because many of the countries in this part of the world are the Orthodox Church, which celebrates Christmas on 7th January, the flights would be full with people going or coming to see their families. I could have got a ticket from Budapest but as a blog written ages ago revealed; no matter where I go in Eastern Europe, I always end up in Budapest hanging around waiting for trains or planes.

In the end I bought a very cheap ticket home from Austria. The price and the fact that I had never been to Austria excited me sufficiently to leave the internet café and not instantly freeze when I hit the -10C air outside.

The train from Belgrade to Vienna soon stifled my excitement. For twelve hours overnight, there was no heating and the vent beside me actually blew in air from outside. Soon I put on an extra pair of socks, that made it three, and then I put my hood up over my hat. Next the gloves went back on and an extra scarf went around my neck. A Russian couple in my compartment complained to the guard who apologised and said the heating couldn’t cope because it was -13C outside. “But it’s always -13C outside they shouted through chattering teeth”. At four times the cost of my flight from Salzburg to England I expected better. And we still went through Budapest. I closed my eyes and pretended not to notice.

Anyway, Austria. I liked it. Not as ridiculously freezing as Serbia. A relatively mild 0C. I can remember reading in one of Bill Bryson’s books something like:

“…if aliens were to land in Vienna they would be convinced that it was the capital of the world…”

I had this half remembered quote in my head as I set off into the town centre and being me I was preparing myself to scoff at such a claim. Well actually I can see the old fella’s point. Well maybe if they had landed a hundred years ago because there are no big tall modern glass and steel structures that might look more capitally nowadays, but the city is very very grand.

Huge and majestic palaces, churches, museums and mansions seem to be looming over you wherever you go. At every corner there is another great statue of some geezer on a mighty horse while around the base, horse drawn carriages ferry cold but content camera toting tourists.

Then I went to Salzburg. It has a wonderful setting. I’m sure it’s equally pretty in summer but it just seemed right to be looking out over snow covered rooftops and skidding down icy streets. I won’t try to describe the view, just look at my pictures. It was a brand new camera (thanks for that ma and pa) so the pictures aren’t perfect but stay tuned because I’m getting better.



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0187s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb